Need hardware expert... - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Need hardware expert...

  1. #11
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi unhappy

    1. Does it play music OK when not connected to the internet?

    2. If you "mute" the sound in "volume controls" do you still get the noise

    3. You might try <sounds & multimedia properties> <audio> and make sure that the "preferred device" is NOT "modem line # playback"

    If that doesn't work I would dump the combo card and buy new cards.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  2. #12
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    Yes nihil... if you mute "master volume" you won't hear anythig. Also If you are not connected to the net you can play any sound just fine. It's just that the damn modem "leaks" to the master volume.

    Where is the sound&multimedia preffered device ... guide me

  3. #13
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hi,

    This is for Win2000, but XP won't be that different

    <start>
    <control panel>
    <sounds & Multimedia> (might be called something a bit different?)
    Click on the "audio" tab
    there will be various options, "sound playback" should be the first

    Check what you have set to play sounds


    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #14
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    Oh that little thing... (haven't been in that corner lately) there's only one choice:
    "Riptide Audio" ... so... no help

  5. #15
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Terribly sorry mate, but that is classic hardware failure symptoms. I would plan on buying new kit.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #16
    Banned
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    1,161
    God it's been so long since my modem days, like early 90's. Try getting all the drivers and move it to another slot maybe.


    I need specifics on the type of sound. How close is it to the connection rhythms?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides