device manager error
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: device manager error

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    27

    device manager error

    Hey all ..
    well .. i got this prob , when i wanna c my device manager .. ( right click on "my computer" and chose properties , then goto hardware and open 'Device Manager' i cant open it .. and i got that error :
    "Windows cannot access specified device, or file. You may not have the approriate permissions to access the item"
    but m logged in my account (that got admins permission) .. when i tried 2 check it by using "Adminitrator" account i got same prob, what should i do ??
    i got windows XP SP2 .. and AMD Athlon 64 bit 3200+ with 1 GB ram so its not hardware fail. .
    help me pls ..

  2. #2
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Did you try in safe mode???

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    27
    yeah it w0rk under safe mode
    ohh and its xp pro ..

  4. #4
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Sure you dont have a virus or malware of somesort...

    Do an AV scan, and scan for spyware

    Cause if it works insafe mode you have some process\app interfering.

    Any new programs\hardware\drivers installed lately??

    What changed from the time it worked to now???

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    NasRaT

    It sounds like you might have some corruption there?

    Please try to create a new account with Admin rights, and see if that works.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    27
    i tried under Adminitrator account .. same prob :S

  7. #7
    have you uninstalled anything as of lot?
    I'm thinking that you might of deleted an .dll file from your system32 i think that 's the folder..
    Sometimes when you unistall something a box appears asking if you want to leave the .dll or delete it.
    maybe you have deleted one that shouldn't of been deleted.

    just throwing up an idea

    front2back:.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    394
    In the first place check you disk for errors with "chkdsk C: /f"

    Open "msconfig" and try to enable all services there.(microsoft services)

    And also try "SFC /scannow"

    Microsoft about corrupted eventlog http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pro...gfilesbad.mspx

    Download and install:
    Windows Script http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...ist/webdev.asp
    // too far away outside of limit

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    27
    Originally posted here by .:front2back:.
    have you uninstalled anything as of lot?
    I'm thinking that you might of deleted an .dll file from your system32 i think that 's the folder..
    Sometimes when you unistall something a box appears asking if you want to leave the .dll or delete it.
    maybe you have deleted one that shouldn't of been deleted.

    just throwing up an idea

    front2back:.
    nop i didnt uninstall .. and it sayes that its "mmc.exe" error .. the file name is written in the top of the error window (the blow part) .. i searched for the file and its found in my pc ..

    and i installed kaspersky personal pro and scanned my pc , but its clean .. :S

  10. #10
    Senior Member therenegade's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    400
    Try this Click Start then Run in the box type sfc /scannow (there is a space between
    sfc & / ).Put your XP CD in the drive then hit OK, this will scan your system and replace any
    broken or corrupted system files with fresh copies from the CD it can take a while
    From:http://www.annoyances.org/exec/forum/winxp/1059909893

    Cheers.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •