what happen to my free avg?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: what happen to my free avg?

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11

    Question what happen to my free avg?

    Hello. Iím a bit confused about my avg. free. Till now it has work perfect for me until today it just didnít want to update the latest virus definitions. I did scan with trend micro online for virus and lavasoft ad-ware and nothing came out. all clean on both test any suggestion would be much appreciated thank you.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    81
    I know this doesn't help, but on a craptop with Win2k I had an AVG install that refused to Auto-protect. I could open it up and scan scan away but it would never autoprotect. Never figured out what it was since I wiped the install about a 2 weeks after.

  3. #3
    Senior Member hesperus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    416
    What message are you getting ? If it is that the file can't be found on the server, they are having problems.

    http://forum.grisoft.cz/freeforum/re...,backpage=,sv=
    .

  4. #4
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Are you on a 24/7 box ?
    is the start tray symbol greyed out ?

    if so it might be you need to re-boot.
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Works fine here on the East Coast U.S.

    I just updated 2 boxes.

    cheers

    edit: Well they're down now. My wife just tried to update on her box and no go. Server is down. The update can't be retrieved from the server.

    cheerios
    Connection refused, try again later.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Hi, to everyone and thank you again for the replies
    Are you on a 24/7 box? Yes I am.
    Is the start tray symbol greyed out? Yes it is
    If so it might be you need to re-boot. Did already four times and nothing. no idea I even uninstall it and install it back and nothing. Iím clueless ďmore than usualĒ
    What message are you getting? The update can't be retrieved from the server.

  7. #7
    Senior Member hesperus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    416
    What message are you getting? The update can't be retrieved from the server.
    *sigh* Then check the link I gave. They are having server problems.
    .

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    38
    Originally posted here by ur-karma
    The update can't be retrieved from the server.
    why dont you install the latest (avg70free_344a618)
    http://free.grisoft.com/doc/Get+AVG+FREE/lng/us/tpl/v5

    see if can update then ! good luck.
    The Power Of Your Imagination:

  9. #9
    The Doctor Und3ertak3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    2,744
    quote:
    What message are you getting? The update can't be retrieved from the server.


    *sigh* Then check the link I gave. They are having server problems.
    Should be all working well now.. has been for my systems since 11:30 UTC.

    This isnt the first time tha Grisoft have had server problems, and probably wont be the last. Never known the problem to exist for more than 24hrs.

    If you ever encounter this problem whay not follow this advice
    I manually downloaded the latest file u7iavi151wf.bin on this page: [free.grisoft.com]
    found on the links given by hesperus, but we have ALL read the info given didnt we.
    Personaly I would only bother with the manual download if:
    The problem Existed for more than a day
    or
    I had a cleanup job and I wanted to have all bases covered - or the infection is very recent (**** most repairs I have the infection is better than 48hrs old b4 I see them)
    "Consumer technology now exceeds the average persons ability to comprehend how to use it..give up hope of them being able to understand how it works." - Me http://www.cybercrypt.co.nr

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    11
    Hello,
    thankís for your help everyone. Well What I finally decided to do was to install back an old copy of Norton 04 That I had around for a wile. Iím too paranoid if I donít get an updated for mor than a couple hours I think my computer. Is invaded by some evil virus or worse Even thought I have to say I like avg antivirus very much and not only because is free. I do appreciate your replies and your thoughts.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •