how do i limit bandwidth going to one computer on my wlan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: how do i limit bandwidth going to one computer on my wlan

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy how do i limit bandwidth going to one computer on my wlan

    whasup people, hey i have a wireless network running in my house, but one of the guys in the house keeps downloadin porn and what not and its killing the bandwidth for the rest of us in the house. now i couldnt care what hes is downloadin but i just want to be able to play my damn xbox. any ideas on how to maybe slap a 56k cap on his ass. any help is greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Kongo and welcome to AO.

    I am afraid that your question is not unusual, and is a bit outside my skillset, apart from software solutions.

    Could you give us a bit more information on your network and connection please. Also do you have a limit from your ISP...................I know guys who have been hit with a 200 bill because of someone's penchant for porn or sexy chat

    Perhaps your local sports store...............you will not need a very high quality hurley for what I have in mind

    More info please

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    1,146
    If you have access to the wireless router, you may be able to limit his access via MAC to times or bandwidth. Depends on the equipment and its features.


  4. #4
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    741
    http://www.softperfect.com/products/bandwidth/
    (you would have to go from your cable modem to your computer then to a switch or similar product)

    http://www.logisense.com/traffic_home.html

    what is the model of your wireless router? I believe any implementation will require 1 pc to be inbetween your network and your internet. otherwise do what i do and unplug his a$$ when you are about to play.

    Also might want to look into packet shaping/ quality of service applications
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    10
    hehehe high quality hurley , just have a cheap and chearful router a realtek wlan ap. no just have a meg cable connection no download limits or anything . yup i have access to the router but there dosent seem to be anyway of controling his access to the net. tell the truth i dont know what to do about it i mean if worse comes to worse ill just tell him to cop the &%^* on to himself or ill just knock him off the network completely. thanks again for your help guys.

  6. #6
    Macht Nicht Aus moxnix's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Huson Mt.
    Posts
    1,752
    If your wireless router is anything like my D-Link then you have all the tools necessary right in your router.


    You can limit the times he is allowed to be on the net and even the number of hours he can be on at any time. You can also ban certain sires and url's that he goes to if you would like.
    \"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, Champagne in one hand - strawberries in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming WOO HOO - What a Ride!\"
    Author Unknown

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    10
    jesus no i dont have near as many options as that. they barely give you enough to get connected. hhhhmmmm im thinkin i might look into a dlink now

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Kongo I am glad that you appreciated my "small ball" joke

    Seriously, I have lived in sharing situations quite a bit.................it all comes down to trust and diplomacy in the end.........................?

    All that will happen is he will post on a site like this and ask "how do I get round this restriction?" I know, I have seen lots of posts like that.

    So, apart from the obvious is there a work around?............there is software that will allow him to schedule his downloads...............I have prevented several murders with that, after all, if he selects and schedules that should be OK?.............it will do it whilst everyone is asleep, in the pub or whatever? and he cannot be watching it whilst it downloads???

    Just a few thoughts?

  9. #9
    Master-Jedi-Pimps0r & Moderator thehorse13's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Washington D.C. area
    Posts
    2,884
    All you need is to configure QoS. Done.

    www.google.com


    Our scars have the power to remind us that our past was real. -- Hannibal Lecter.
    Talent is God given. Be humble. Fame is man-given. Be grateful. Conceit is self-given. Be careful. -- John Wooden

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,052
    Or you can use http://www.netlimiter.com/ I think that should work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •