Norton or other AntiVirus

Thread: Norton or other AntiVirus

Norton or other AntiVirus

And I've just installed a new update for my Norton Antivirus, but what I wanted to do is scan my computer for viruses applying only the new updated component. I couldn't do that ...

Does anyone know of any other reliable AntiVirus that lets you do this ?

Hi BroomieBar, I am not an expert but could not you get in trouble if for example you had contracted a virus since your last scan that is 6 months old and is obviously not included in the last database of viruses in your AV apps?
    JC

Hi Novice,

I struggled a bit to get your point but I get what you're saying now...

But hang on shouldn't Norton or another AV, pick up viruses Automatically, that's the only way I've ever picked up viruses.
    infact I have never ever picked up a virus during a scan before.

Hi Broomiebar

Please be patient, and I will attempt to explain. TheNovice is quite correct here

If you update your AV on the 20th of the month and scan it, and find nothing. Then you update on the 27th of the month, and the AV will discover another 100 viruses?.........................if you only scan for those extra 100 viruses on the 27th, any virus you contracted between your scan on the 20th and the 27th, that are already in the 100,000 it detects, will not be found

This is what TheNovice was telling you.

Now, I imagine that you are really asking "how can I get this to run faster, and more efficiently?".............well, you are not far off, in a way

There are AV products that will scan a file, and analyse it............number of bytes, date last altered, start and end strings and so on. Then they add a little code to the file.....................this tells the scanner that it has been checked. Without getting too technical, this is known as "checksumming"