ID Theft Problem...HELP!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: ID Theft Problem...HELP!

ID Theft Problem...HELP!

I'm a newbie in search for only one piece of info from any of you fine folks willing to help me out. Victim of ID theft, yadda yadda. The kicker is, I live in a town ruled by Barney Fyfe. Small town, no resources. The detective gave me the IP address of the person who is responsible.

I have asked internet carrier (the owner of the IP address) for any info regarding personal identification of who this person is. No word for two weeks.

I have an IP address, I just need a face to go with it. They have ALL personal info on me.

Does anybody have any idea how I can get this info ANY other way?

PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE respond with any ideas....

Thanks so much

The detective gave me the IP address of the person who is responsible.
    So why weren't they arrested................it is a criminal offence?

I have asked internet carrier (the owner of the IP address) for any info regarding personal identification of who this person is. No word for two weeks.
    And you won't.................they would, I hope only give that information to an accredited representative of a law enforcement agency.

Anyway, an IP address is notoriously unreliable. Many of them are dynamic, and it is pretty difficult to prove who was actually using the computer at the time.

How do you know when it happened?

I have an IP address, I just need a face to go with it. They have ALL personal info on me.
    First part: why? second part: how do you know?

Why is it I smell social engineering here?......................don't feed the Trolls folks

Just Another Geek

Re: ID Theft Problem...HELP!

Originally posted here by Newbie25
    Victim of ID theft, yadda yadda.
    How did you find out?

The detective gave me the IP address of the person who is responsible.
    Why would he do that? How did he find it?