Wireless problem - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 30 of 30

Thread: Wireless problem

  1. #21
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    Connect to the access point. Wait for it to timeout giving you and IP address.
    Open up a "Command Prompt" window.
    Type, "ipconfig /release" (no quotes)
    Give it five oro ten seconds.
    It should show you a list of Adapters (such as your wireless card) and your wireless card's IP should be 0.0.0.0
    Type, "ipconfig /renew" (no quotes)
    Give it thirty or seconds and see if it gives you a valid IP.

    Report back with results.

    - X
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  2. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    here's what it says:

    1. ipconfig/release - IP addy for adapter wireless network connection has already been released.

    2. ipconfig/renew - error occured, the RPC server is unavailable.
    [glowpurple]First you must decide. Then you must follow through.\" - Lacus Clyne[/glowpurple]

  3. #23
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    Did some reading. Found this: http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.c...=990313&page=8
    Lead me here: http://www.tek-tips.com/faqs.cfm?pid=779&fid=4625

    I would recommend trying the "WinsockFix". HTRegz has even recommended it here: http://www.antionline.com/showthread...ght=WinsockFix

    Let us know how that goes.

    - X
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  4. #24
    Senior Member Cemetric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    491
    Good idea about the Winsock xierox.

    You can also try the reset of the TCP/IP stack ...there's a standard option to do this in Windows XP with the netsh command.

    Here is the Microsoft Article about how to use it.

    But it is basicly a command you type in a dos box :

    Code:
    netsh int ip reset
    Just in case the other stuff doesn't work ... ya never know

    C.
    Back when I was a boy, we carved our own IC's out of wood.

  5. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    Falling's problem sounds exactly like mine! i tried the 'netsh winsock reset' in cmd prompt. before that though, i used the 'netsh winsock show catalog' to see the before & after of resetting the catalog to find out whether any entries were removed and which ones these were.

    Before:
    Address Family: 17
    Max address length: 20
    Min. address lenth: 20
    socket type: 2
    protocol: -3
    protocol chain length: 1

    After is the same.

    I also tried the 'netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt'
    & here's the results:-


    reset Linkage\UpperBind for PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_103D&SUBSYS_05221014&REV_81\4&39A85202&0&40F0. bad value was:
    REG_MULTI_SZ =
    PSched

    reset Linkage\UpperBind for PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_4220&SUBSYS_27128086&REV_05\4&39A85202&0&10F0. bad value was:
    REG_MULTI_SZ =
    PSched

    reset Linkage\UpperBind for MF\PCMCIA#XIRCOM-CREDITCARD_ETHERNET_10/100_+_MODEM_56-C027\1#CHILD0001. bad value was:
    REG_MULTI_SZ =
    PSched

    reset Linkage\UpperBind for ROOT\MS_NDISWANIP\0000. bad value was:
    REG_MULTI_SZ =
    PSched

    <completed>

    <completed>
    [glowpurple]First you must decide. Then you must follow through.\" - Lacus Clyne[/glowpurple]

  6. #26
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Did we try removing TCP/IP and then reinstalling it yet?
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    you mean from the wireless network connection properties, under Internet Protocol {TCP/IP}, then uninstall?
    [glowpurple]First you must decide. Then you must follow through.\" - Lacus Clyne[/glowpurple]

  8. #28
    Senior Member Cemetric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    491
    You can run following command from a DOS box and perform a scan...then take a look at what the log says under your network interface:

    Code:
    netsh diag gui
    It starts up a window ...click "scan my system" or something like that (can't realy remember )

    Or try this Microsoft article .

    especially the "How to determine whether the Winsock2 key is corrupted" chapter. (I have this in my bookmarks incase you're wondering where I get them so quicly )

    Maybe these things can help.

    C.
    Back when I was a boy, we carved our own IC's out of wood.

  9. #29
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    38
    i installed the netdiag tool & typed in 'netdiag /test:winsock /v'.
    winsock test: passed.

    so does that mean, the winsock is not corrupted?
    [glowpurple]First you must decide. Then you must follow through.\" - Lacus Clyne[/glowpurple]

  10. #30
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Originally posted here by tragicallyhip
    2. ipconfig/renew - error occured, the RPC server is unavailable.
    Did you harden your workstation by disabling some services?

    Try net start rpcss on a cmd line and retry ipconfig /renew..
    If rpcss fails to start look at its dependencies.. It might need other services..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •