Enlightenment.org down?
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Enlightenment.org down?

  1. #1
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177

    Enlightenment.org down?

    Anyone else having trouble reaching it? It's not responding.

  2. #2
    all i got was check the name and try again...

    got the same using Internet Explorer, and got the same under FireFox on my Debian Box.

  3. #3
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Same here in the UK...............

    "Check name and try again"



  4. #4
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    OK did some detective work and they are having DNS issues right now.

    http://www.enlightenment.org.au/

    http://********-e.org/

    Those work

    Oh if you don't use E or don't know what it is, check this out:

    http://enlightenment.sourceforge.net...az-desktop.png

    Yea, that's right. Eat it Window Manager wannabees.

    Now to ice it:

    That screen shot is over a year old. And E itself which you use now, is over 5 years old and looks THAT good. The new DR17 has been in production for like ever and when it comes out, it's going to blow the mind of anything out there.



    More info on DR16:

    http://www.enlightenment.org.au/Enlightenment/DR16/



    A lot of people say Mac OS X is what X wished it could be. This is a shot and some info on DR 17 :

    http://www.enlightenment.org.au/Enlightenment/DR17/


    Personally I think Mac OS X has NOTHING on E. I mean look at that, it's amazing.



    Here is another E thing:

    http://www.enlightenment.org.au/Applications/Engage/

    That pic would be your tool bar, Mac OS X looks similar, very similar...



    Here are some screen shots if you'd like to get a decent look at E:

    http://www.enlightenment.org.au/Enli...t/Screenshots/

    Remember on the RIGHT hand corner there are some movies.

    And before I confuse newbies:

    KDE and Gnome, are considered "Desktops" Where FVWM and a like are considered Window Managers. As is Window Maker. Now I use all of them that come with the SUSE boxed sets which includes more than any other distro on Earth, I use them all because I like them all. I use Gnome KDE, FVWM, E, and window Maker. Window Maker can look amazing but E is too.

    Enlightenment, already, allows you to have special effects on your desktop. For example, I can make the thing ripple so that it looks like the bottom of your desktop looks like it has a pond on it.

    This is something I do on a box with 384 MBs RAM, and a 733 MHz processor. NO LAG.


    Another shot:

    http://enlightenment.sourceforge.net...e17_screen.png




    http://enlightenment.sourceforge.net...ots/index.html

    http://enlightenment.sourceforge.net...creenshot2.png


    So what do you think?


    EDIT:


    Forgot about this:

    http://********-e.org/Backgrounds/Animated/


    You can have animated BG images .

  5. #5
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    Ya its 6:12 here in Texas and site is still down.... but, i guess u already knew that lol
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  6. #6
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    The Links work

  7. #7
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Catch, this box can't run XP well. Although there is 384 MBs RAM in it it would be slow as crap. But I have Enlightenment on here now and it's been up like a week and isn't lagging at all, and that's with extra effects I added. KDE takes WAY more than E, and XP, well, KDE is catching up to it's requirements.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Posts
    1,004
    You have a very bad installation of XP... I just setup XP for a friend on their laptop with 128mb of RAM and it works fine, even running Office. I myself have an old laptop with 64mb of RAM that runs 2k pro fine, again even with Office.

    Granted it has been a few years since I ran Enlightenment (128MB 600EB Pent 3 = RH Linux), but at that time it was insanely bloated... for no real value that I could see beyond pretties... that said I still liked it.

    cheers,

    catch

  9. #9
    Senior Member gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    It does have something about it which makes me keep coming. RedHat is slow regaurdless of what you use. We probably have two different ideas of "working fine" heh, 64 MBs is fine for XP, but it lags for me to much for my liking. I have Windows 2000 Professional all patches installed on my Mom's computer which is a Gateway Essentials with 433 MHz Celeron and 192 RAM. Runs good. I had 2000 on here but took it off to do more testing on newer Linux distros.

    I need another machine like this one, every peice of hardware works amazing on every OS I've put on here. Hell BeOS worked on it.

    Should try and find another but with more RAM, maybe a 1 GHz processor or so, and a better Video Card.
    As I said earlier this box only has 384 MBs RAM and a 733 MHz P3.

    The video card in here is awesome but I'd like a better one for it. It's an Nvidia Riva TNT2 16 MB.

    Catch if you have any other Unices at home you could set up E on those. They make it portable.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •