Whatismyip
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Whatismyip

  1. #1
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648

    Whatismyip

    Hello everyone

    Like you may already know I am attempting to build a handy dandy web page for myself. sort of an everything I need web page. Well I want to add view IP to it, so that I can see my IP address. Isnt there a simple script that will allow me to do this? alot of the site that give the script, want the page to be coded in shtml, but I dont want to change my entire page just for that. My page if you want to see it is www.jasnetworks.net/gmurray. I also want to have a ping utility and tracert utility added to my page, but havent figured how to get that to work. any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. thanks
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,429
    Does your server support php?

    PHP Code:
    <?php echo $_SERVER["REMOTE_ADDR"]; ? 
    will display the visitor's IP addy.

    Here's a bunch of ping and tracert scripts (all PHP): http://www.hotscripts.com/PHP/Script...ols/index.html

  3. #3
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Well to tell you the truth I wouldnt know unless I called the DSL company to find out. I would supect they do, but cant say forsure. If I ran php and wanted to add that to my page (shown Above) would I have to change any of my source code or would I just change the .html to .php?
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  4. #4
    AO Senior Cow-beller
    Moderator
    zencoder's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mountain standard tribe.
    Posts
    1,177
    Ghost changing the extension will not make anything work differently for you, I'd venture to guess. It sounds like you are new to 'active content' web development. Standard .htm or .html pages can display dynamic content, but it takes some configuration on the server side and almost always requires software, modules, or applications to be installed on the server.

    Check with your hosting provider about PHP support. It's one of the simpler ways to provide active content. If they do, you are in luck...the internet is awash in resources for PHP site creation.
    "Data is not necessarily information. Information does not necessarily lead to knowledge. And knowledge is not always sufficient to discover truth and breed wisdom." --Spaf
    Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made president should on no account be allowed to do the job. --Douglas Adams (1952-2001)
    "...people find it far easier to forgive others for being wrong than being right." - Albus Percival Wulfric Brian Dumbledore

  5. #5
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Cool thanks for the info, Yeah I never really got into the site creation thing but I do have a love for scripts. You know I have the problem I never know what type of site I want to have. I do like to play pratical jokes so I added a fack virus thing on my web site. Check out (My Stuff link). yes I know you can get past the password thing, just checking out different password scripts. I think I'll check out php and see what it has to offer over html. thanks again.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •