Lanier LTE-3
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Lanier LTE-3

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    445

    Lanier LTE-3

    Well... I was trash diving earlier and I found 2 Lanier LTE-3's.


    I have no clue about them... Anyone have any specs?


    I've been googling...

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    707
    Hey D0pp check out this link [1] the only thing is I cant figure out what language the info is written in ??? Hope that helps ....

    [1] LANIER LTE-3
    Operation Cyberslam
    \"I\'ve noticed that everybody that is for abortion has already been born.\" Author Unknown
    Microsoft Shared Computer Toolkit
    Proyecto Ututo EarthCam

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    445
    It's German and it's for the printer.



  4. #4
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hmmmm, seriously old stuff there d0ppy 1980's I would say.

    Looks like twin 5.25" drives?

    I do know that Lanier stopped making computers a long time ago, and that they had their own operating system. I would guess that their apps would be written in some form of COBOL.

    I remember using Mohawk computers around that time..............they used "MOBOL"

    EDIT: On looking around I would guess that they are NOT computers as such. I think that they are possibly dedicated word processors.

  5. #5
    I think that they are possibly dedicated word processors.
    Well now he's got something to use to type up he's website source code..

    Indeed wierd but a great find you got there D0pp..

    front2back

  6. #6
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    I had another look, but can't seem to find much, they are seriously old

    I would guess that the OS will be CP/M, probably 80. I found this:

    About ten years ago, I purchased a Harris Lanier Word Processor, a No Problem II and was very happy and satisfied with it. Unfortunately you had to "program" it each time you turned it on, using two diskettes, 5 1/4" size. Being a complete novice and evidently not too bright, I believed it when it said NOT TO MAKE COPIES OF THESE TWO DISKETTES. Unfortunately, one of the diskettes became faulty, thus making my lovely machine a pile of metal junk - a Frankenstein monster with no brains. Being quite determined and hoping to retrieve all of the info stored on my diskettes, I have made innumerable phone calls from Canada to Mexico, from the East Coast to the West Coast and to no avail. Most people expressed - well, I can't think of the feelings they expressed but I was made to feel like a sole survivor of the dinosaur age and had let the last dinosaur expire.
    They may well be boot from floppy? Does anything appear on the screen when you power them up?



    EDIT: I can confirm that they are dedicated word processors, the format is listed by this outfit who specialise in data conversion:
    http://www.ndci.com/wplist.html

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    445
    Yeah... crazy green **** appears...


    Yeah. It/they have twin 5.25's as well as a separate magnetic storage unit I found.

    I haven't been able to hook it up yet


    I have no clue. I'm going to attempt to fix the display... between the two machines, I should be able to come up with a single working unit.


    EDIT: THis is even better than when I attempted internet access with my commodore.

  8. #8
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hey D0ppy have you got any 5.25" media? you will need 360Kb..............those drives won't run 720Kb or 1.2Mb

    I sense a nice project here? am I invited?.................if so you had better send me a reliable snailmail.............I have a whole heap of stuff from around that era...................it would be nice to see one of these puppies fly again?

    Cheers,

    Johnno

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    445
    Anyone who wants in on this project is welcome.


    I am checking thrift stores for anything I might be able to use to get one running.


    Unfortunately, my internet connection is b0rked at the moment.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •