Dhcp problems
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Dhcp problems

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    379

    Dhcp problems

    Hi, I am having a problem at work we have a dhcp server to serve out addresses it is a windows 2000 server and one of my other servers has a static ip address but i still see mltiple leased addresses for it in the dhcp leased address table their is also one other machine doing this but it needs a dns address any one have any ideas why this might be soing this.

  2. #2
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    So your server that has the static IP address is still trying to get an address from the DHCP server? Are there multiple network interfaces (NIC's) on that server?
    - Maverick

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    379
    No.

  4. #4
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    If you delete the entries for that server in the DHCP table then reboot the server, do those entries then show back up in the table?

    Using "ipconfig /all" on the server, what is the IP address that it shows? Multiple IP address there, or just your one static address?
    - Maverick

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    379
    if id do ipconfig/all it only shows one ip address the statically assigned ip address and if i delete the entries from the dhcp server with out rebooting the server they will come back in a few hours. I am starting to thing it is something between the 2 servers that is causing the problem.

  6. #6
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    And when those entries come back, you are sure that they are entries for the server in question because the Unique ID field (MAC address) on the DHCP Address Lease table matches the MAC address of the server with the static IP address?
    - Maverick

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    379
    yes it is the same server that I as sure of, every thing matches.

  8. #8
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    Would the static address assigned to your server appear in your address pool for the DHCP server? If so, have you set up an exclusion for it on the DHCP server?
    - Maverick

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    379
    yea I seee the static ip in the list of leased ip addresses but it is leased to the correct server under the unique id colom it shows the mac address of the server and under the type colom it says none, but on the duplicutes under type it says dhcp and under unique id it says ras.

  10. #10
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    OK...I maybe misunderstanding this...

    W2K reserves addresses.... eg 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.0.20

    to be used for static addresses, other servers, printers etc

    Make sure your server has an address in that range....or check out what the static reservations are on the DHCP server....

    If it is in the static range...it should not show up in the leases afaik

    So I think you may have assigned the server a static address which is not excluded in DHCP

    Clear as mud

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides