BIOS question
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BIOS question

  1. #1
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539

    BIOS question

    I have a CPU: (754-pin) AMD ATHLON64 3000+ CPU w/ Hyper Transport Technology. Im wondering if a need a BIOS update? I have heard if it aint broke dont fix it but im just curious and my MOTHERBOARD: (754-pin Socket) eVGA nForce3 250 Chipset SATA RAID AGP8X w/GbLAN,USB2,&5.1Audio. Should I be thinking about updating/flashing my BIOS or leave it alone? I went on AMD's website but didnt find anything useful so far.
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  2. #2
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Its a rule of thumb to not flash your BIOS unless there is a specific reason too - however that was in the days when it all had to be done manualy.

    There is plenty of apps out there that take the risk out of it now - but I still wouldnt do it unless there is a reason for it!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Tex,

    Is this your new computer? I'd leave it be as suggested unless there's a need or a really good option on the update.

    cheers
    Connection refused, try again later.

  4. #4
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    I just got this computer 3 days ago... I was just wondering if it needed an update but the concensus seems to be that if it aint broken dont fix it.
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    Yes
    Posts
    4,424
    Ty,

    You shouldn't be looking for a BIOS update on the AMD site, but on the EVGA site (the motherboard manufacturer): http://www.evga.com/Support/Drivers/default.asp (select Mainboards, then Bios Updates, then NForce 3 250 Gb).

    Their latest BIOS update was in September - more than likely, you already have the latest version.

  6. #6
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    thanx for pointing me in the right direction neg, I will prolly just leave it alone but its good to know where to go just in case.
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •