d-link DI-704up
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: d-link DI-704up

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    69

    d-link DI-704up

    the other day i was scanning a few nodes on my network for no reason, and detects my router to have ftpd1.6. i try going to ftp://192.168.0.1, it asks for a login, i enter admin and its password, no luckm i enter root, then a password and it says bad command. I was wondering if anyone knew how to login
    Signature image is too tall!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    69
    *edit* i can login with an FTP client using root and my admin password i dont know how much more i can do
    Signature image is too tall!

  3. #3
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    762
    DLink DI-704, DI-704P, DI-713, DI-713P, DI-714P+ and DI-804HV Routers

    1. Power the unit off by unplugging its power adapter.

    2. Insert a paper clip in to the reset pinhole. Press and hold the reset button
    with light pressure.

    3. Power the device back on by plugging it in. Continue to hold the reset
    button.

    4. Watch the lights on the front of the gateway. The M1 & M2 should come on
    solid. When the M1 & M2 begin to blink slowly, release the reset button.

    5. The unit will reboot itself and should be at factory defaults. If the M1
    light is not blinking about once per second, recycle the power on the gateway.

    (Important: If the M1 & M2 lights continue to blink rapidly, you held the reset
    button for too long. Power the device off and repeat the reset procedure.)


    6. The default username for dlink routers is admin. The password is BLANK.
    according to http://www.phenoelit.de/dpl/dpl.html

    If your router asks only for a password, use admin (lower-case). You can now surf to
    the router and configure it.

    7. Additional support/information for DLink routers can be found at
    http://support.dlink.com

    Hope this helps. Computernerd22


  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    69
    thats not what i wanted, i know my passwords etc to get to web interface and know all that, theres a hidden ftp server on there, you can login, so far only command i can do is recv.

    no matter what remote file i type i get a 1.3mb file with a jumble of stuff, i think it mite be everything on the router as i can read my logs and firewall ruels etc amongst the weird characters, if anyone out there knows how to do anything else with this pm me. Its kinda cool, some one mine be able to use this for something ;D
    Signature image is too tall!

  5. #5
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    The ftp server in all the personal firewalls is used to update the firmware..... That's why it is there.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  6. #6
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Firmware is done with TFTP though isn't it? What were you expecting to find on there? The only thing it does is take those .bin files and upload them to the router. As Tiger said this is the Firmware.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    69
    when i update firmware i do it thought the web thing so it would be over http, the only command i have been able to use is, recv randomfile.anything

    everything else e.g directory listing, uploading etc gives me a big fat "permission denied", funny thing is using the web interface (http) you set root no where, only an admin login name, i think FTP mite be something for D-Link to use not sure tho
    Signature image is too tall!

  8. #8
    AO's MMA Fanatic! Computernerd22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    762
    Here is a neat emulator for the D-LINK di704 Router.
    http://support.dlink.com/emulators/di704/IndexLogon.htm


    when i update firmware i do it thought the web thing so it would be over http, the only command i have been able to use is, recv randomfile.anything
    Is this the one? http://support.dlink.com/downloads

    Except, you do it through the Routers GUI.

    Firmware is done with TFTP though isn't it?
    Depends on make and model number. Some use Tiny FTP for firmware upgrades but some models of d-link do not. example di704 doesn't use tftp

    http://www.dlink.co.in/dlink/Product...and/di704p.htm

    but the d-link DSL-500T does.

    http://www.dlink.co.in/dlink/Product...nd/dsl500t.htm


  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    69
    nope thats not it sorry, it UP model

    http://support.dlink.com/emulators/di704up/

    but its not TFTP becuase you login and can use commands, but as i said before all but recv randomfile.anything is the other thing that works.

    also i dont know if i included the scan i did on it returned FTPd 1.6
    Signature image is too tall!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    69
    well i emailed them, got a reply that the FTP daemon was used for "Design and troubleshooting for D-link engineers", so unless you send dlink a nice little form asking for information, which they will probly turn down you dont get any information on it
    Signature image is too tall!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides