ClarkConnect issues
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: ClarkConnect issues

  1. #1
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528

    Unhappy ClarkConnect issues

    I installed a ClarkConnect box into my system : I'm using it to 'filter' the web / system interface

    adsl router ---> ClarkConnect ---> 16 way 100 Mbps switch ---> various boxes {XPPro / 2KPro / Fedora core 3 / Ubuntu}

    problem is that the CC box is causing problems on SOME sites :

    AO is fine
    any other forum is OK

    BUT - on them, any animated avatars do not animate .... and here on AO, when a post is extremely pos / neg, it does NOT flash.

    some sites {Ladbrokes for one} I get little windows that pop up to inform me that there is a fault in the load up, and as such the page may not work correctly, and I get the icon in the bottom left to confirm that it is loaded but with errors.

    and I have also lost the ability to open Outlook, the error message reads along the lines of -


    Task 'mail - Receiving' reported error (0x800CCC90) : 'Your incoming (POP3) e-mail server has reported an internal error. If you continue to receive this message, contact your server administrator or Internet service provider (ISP). The server responded: -ERR AVG POP3 Proxy Server: Cannot connect to the mail server!'
    and the ISP home page {Virgin.net} does not load at all.

    so far I've 'upgraded' to the office 3.2 version, and things are better, but I still have the same basic faults......

    any help, ideas would be appreciated
    and I have been Googling for answers, and there is a CC forum but so far I'VE been unable to figure this out ..........

    I have removed CC, and gone through the ipconfig/release then /renew to allow the adsl router to set the IP's, and without it the problem has gone, so it IS in the CC set up, I just don't know where .........

    and to just remove it is not what I want to do, I want it to work


    TIA
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  2. #2
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    OK so no takers, so to bump and add details :

    extremely pos / neg does NOT flash
    BUT
    old threads date DOES flash

    are they on different programmes ???
    I have to assume so, as if it is blocking active, would it allow flash ??

    I still can't find details
    so for now, I've disabled content filtering
    and I've got it so that it [CC] runs DHCP.




    no more subtlety



    HELP ME
    I will NOT be beaten by a programme


    well, NOT in the first week anyway
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  3. #3
    T̙͓̞̣̯ͦͭͅͅȂͧͭͧ̏̈͏̖̖Z̿ ͆̎̄
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,171
    Hi Foxy,

    no takers
    Well...I gave it a shot awhile back when you first posted but found nothing specific to your problem...even checked a few CC faq's with no luck...

    I found a few general CC issues...I can go back and find them if no one else pipes up with a better answer.

    Eg

  4. #4
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    cheers Eg :
    but I'm already going through those links ..........
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  5. #5
    Senior Member hesperus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    416
    Is this any help foxy ?

    found the problem... and for anyone thats running clarkconnect out there DONT TURN ON "Banner AD/PopUp Blocker" All it does is search all GIF's for multiple frame code and strips it back to next to nothing!!! LOL Privoxy i think the linux package is called... and quite **** by the looks of it LOL
    http://www.valhalla.net.au/modules.p...&view=previous
    .

  6. #6
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    I'll let you know


    You have given out too many AntiPoints today, try again later.
    I'll be back
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  7. #7
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    Further news on ClarkConnect :

    I have upgraded to Office 3.2, from the Home edition [I paid for the license ]
    and now most things are back to normal, I assume the home edition was in need of 'fine' tuning, and I just aint a fine tune type of guy

    BUT
    Outlook STILL cannot connect to the POP3 server for my mail

    latest :
    I'm logged on now via a Fedora Core 3 box, using Mozilla as a mail client, I clicked on the mail icon, it popped up a window asking for the password to the account [it gave me ALL details] password entered, it buggered off and within SECONDS it D/Led four HUNDRED mails

    So, if there is someone out there who recognises WTF I've done, could you please put me out of my misery ...

    and for now, the password to the CC box is unknown [used my brothers account, and HIS password] so I cannot tune it today ...............

    but I will need some advice as to how to either amalgamate the [now] two mail accounts OR how to drag 'em back to Outlook when it's all over.
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pacific Northwest
    Posts
    1,675
    Hey Foxyloxley

    This is the first time I have heard of the program, however, I did search through the first 20 pages of their forum and found a thread about re-setting the mail if it's hosed.

    I have been playing and broken my mail but not sure exactly what I have done. Is there anyway of uninstalling everything related to the mail systems and then reinstalling all the modules or do I have to go back to a clean install??

    Laurie


    Re: I have broken my Mail
    #78987 - 10/31/05 12:55 AM


    Code:

    apt-get remove cc-postfix cc-postfix-report postfix postfix-pflogsumm
    apt-get update
    apt-get clean
    apt-get install cc-postfix cc-postfix-report postfix postfix-pflogsumm

    Source
    I paid for...
    a sexoring?

    cheers
    Connection refused, try again later.

  9. #9
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    OK :
    I have had to conclude that the CC box is working fine .............

    as a 'test' I used the OE on the server to access my mail account [all done and dusted, and via the CC box]
    the Fedora box is having 'issues' with the MS 'natural' keyboard, and so is out of action, BUT the fact it got to the mail made me realise I'm looking at this from the wrong end ....

    It is JUST the workstation with XPPro on that is at fault
    it will NOT connect to the POP3 server
    I get pop ups telling me that certain [IE6] windows have not loaded correctly, and as such they may not display correctly

    so would someone think that I've got a corrupted [slightly] OS ??
    and would they agree that using the CD to repair OS is the way to go ??

    and one last ........ if /when I DO the repair, I won't lose any of MY stuff, will I ??

    so again, sorry for the meandering, but it just seemed too much of a coincidence that the CC box was installed, and the XP Outlook failed to connect

    lesson to be learned :
    when working on a NETWORK
    use ANOTHER box to try out links / connections / apps
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  10. #10
    The ******* Shadow dalek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    1,564
    Hi foxyloxley

    I found this at elder geek:
    Repair or Reinstall Internet Explorer6 and Outlook Express 6

    According to Microsoft, if you are having trouble with either Internet Explorer 6 or Outlook Express 6 because of damaged files or missing registration information (XP registration trouble, not your name and address) you will need to either reinstall or repair the affected installation. I'm going to go over two ways that Microsoft suggests for dealing with IE6 and OE6 problems. Read over the entire article before making a decision about which method to use. At the end of Method II I've mentioned what I'd consider the best solution to this problem.

    Repair

    If the program is corrupted, doing a sfc /scannow to check on the files, may point you in the right direction.......
    PC Registered user # 2,336,789,457...

    "When the water reaches the upper level, follow the rats."
    Claude Swanson

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •