how do i configure multiple websites on a single server
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: how do i configure multiple websites on a single server

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    17

    how do i configure multiple websites on a single server

    well that is my question and another thing do i need to install apache to make multiple websites work
    i get a message like this cannot connect to www.*****************.com please cheak etc/hosts

    =========== =============
    log in anyway | |try again |
    =========== ============
    i think that about explains it
    and yes what is the advantage of the directory being home/blahblah
    and usr/****/**** or something like that


    and may be i havent checked posts about chrooting but may be i will post it some other time
    =;
    you look up and a bird shits in the sky ,you fall on your knees and thank god that buffalos dont fly.

  2. #2
    Senior Member Cemetric's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    491
    Ummm

    First of all ... your post should be a bit more clear about what it is you exactly want , have or want to get done.

    As what I can understand about what it is you want is that you have a server running Apache or want to run Apache if this is the case then the explination I found by googling your question and looking for about 2 seconds will get you on your way of configuring the server to host multiple websites. you can find the rest of the article here

    Hosting multiple websites

    If you plan to host multiple websites on your web server, you first need to create a virtualhost directive for the default site. The ServerName and DocumentRoot directives should be the same as the Global directives listed higher up in the config file. The format of a typical virtual host can be found below:

    #www.defaultsite.com
    <VirtualHost *> #asterisk uses all IP addresses
    ServerName www.mysite.com
    ServerAlias www.yoursite.com www.his-site.com #optional
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html
    </VirtualHost>

    Below are all the common directives you may use for the rest of your virtual hosts:

    #www.site1.com
    <VirtualHost ip.address.goes.here >
    ServerAdmin webmaster@site1.com #optional
    ServerName www.site1.com
    ServerAlias www.site1.net www.site1.org #optional
    ErrorDocument 404 /index.html ErrorDocument 403 /index.html ErrorLog logs/error_log #optional
    CustomLog logs/access_log combined #optional
    DocumentRoot /home/bob/HTML
    </VirtualHost>
    If you are trying to host multiple website on an IIS this can be done by using the Hostheaders.

    But first give us more information ... or better yet ...use THIS to find your answers ... if then there is something you can't understand the guys here will be happy to help

    Gr33tz,

    C.
    Back when I was a boy, we carved our own IC's out of wood.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    469
    Looks to me that the problem is more DNS related, or that you don't have a web server running at all. If apache was running and DNS pointed to the box, you would atleast get the default web page, not an error message. I think you're problem is not what you think it is.

  4. #4
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Are you running behind a router and if so, do you have port forwarding set for the server on that router? Yes, you can have two web sites on one server, you just need to have the dns (forward and reverse lookup zones) set for each web address and have the correct path set for each. Also make sure you have a static IP address, also make sure the Web name provider has your IP address, and to name your first web page index. Apache is not required to run a web site. IIS is really all that you need. Windows XP comes with IIS but only allows I think 10 people on your site at a time.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    17
    i had a linux box and i just wanted to learn how to configure apache. I am a student not a data center manager or a computer science student slacker turned system adminstrator. It was posted by me just to gain knowledge but thank you for your participation and Cemetric please check you p.m . and i wish all of you a belated happy new year 2006
    you look up and a bird shits in the sky ,you fall on your knees and thank god that buffalos dont fly.

  6. #6
    BIOS Bomber
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    357
    man this is happening often..people posting when its flashing and a year old. um ill let the others deal with this one..this makes 5 today/few hours of yesterday iv seen this.
    "When in doubt, use Brute Force."

    Never argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level, then beat you with experience.

  7. #7
    Mandrake, maybe check to see whom started the thread..
    Now look at the person that you negged..

    maybe slow down with the trigger finger..

    I don't blame the dude for re-posting in a thread that he/she created some time back, well a few months.
    I'd rather this, then start up a whole new thread about the same topic..

    cheers
    front2back

  8. #8
    Jaded Network Admin nebulus200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    1,356
    Originally posted here by .:front2back:.
    Mandrake, maybe check to see whom started the thread..
    Now look at the person that you negged..

    maybe slow down with the trigger finger..

    cheers
    front2back
    Or rather than ruin someone's day, just neg the thread ?
    There is only one constant, one universal, it is the only real truth: causality. Action. Reaction. Cause and effect...There is no escape from it, we are forever slaves to it. Our only hope, our only peace is to understand it, to understand the 'why'. 'Why' is what separates us from them, you from me. 'Why' is the only real social power, without it you are powerless.

    (Merovingian - Matrix Reloaded)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •