Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Alright Wardriving.

Angry Alright Wardriving.

Okay, I'd like to say hello to everyone out there on Anti-Online. I am the noob.

First off let me discuss my problem, I fear that i have a wardriver that stops close to the wireless nextworks in and around my house, figures out how he can get in, and uses it freely whenever he pulls up in his car. If he sees anything suspicious he usually bolts out of site before we can even see him.

Okay, I'm the noob here, but can anyone tell me how i can get this guy off of my network? And if so how can my wireless network log any occurances of him? I'm tired of changing the passwords and the WEP keys, and i'd just like to see if I could ban him from the networks.

Thanks for the help, I'm happy to hear all suggestions.

Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar
    Couch, you might want to elaborate a little more as to what kind of router you are using but, in any event, I believe most routers will record all wireless connections and the associated MAC address. The MAC address will look something like this : 00-11-86-7B-A8-96. A MAC address is a starting point to try an isolate this guy (as MAC addresses are a unique identifier for a computer). Problem being is that there are MAC spoofing apps out there so it depends how good this guy is.
    If you're able to get his real MAC address, you can then block him using a MAC filter. Determining his real MAC vs. a Spoofed MAC is another story. Not to make matters worse, but , should this guy be very determined, he can "sniff" your wireless traffic and find legit MAC addresses connecting to your router and mimic those.
    Listen, I don't want to make you panic. My suggestion is this -
    1) Determine the MAC address of everything that's going to be connecting to your router (your PC, Printer etc.)
    2) Enable MAC filtering based on those MAC addresses