DVD-RW problem..
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: DVD-RW problem..

  1. #1
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299

    DVD-RW problem..

    I finally got my DVD-RW and managed to get my two hard drives and DVD-RW drive all working. When I boot up, everything is perfect, however as I use the computer more, the DVD-RW drive doesn't eject if there is a CD inside. I tried pressing the eject button several times, doesn't work, tried via My Computer, doesn't work. What could possibly be wrong? However I can still play the DVD inside, view it's contents, etc. but I cannot eject it.

    My initial guess was that it is a PSU issue, but that can't be it, since I havent ADDED anything new, I just replaced a CD-RW drive with a DVD-RW drive. I can imagine that a DVD-RW would use more power, but it shouldn't be THAT much. Besides, it still works, meaning the PSU still has enough to power the lasers and etc. Also, when I restart, everthing goes back to normal for a while..Any help/Comments?
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299

    DVD-RW problem..

    I finally got my DVD-RW and managed to get my two hard drives and DVD-RW drive all working. When I boot up, everything is perfect, however as I use the computer more, the DVD-RW drive doesn't eject if there is a CD inside. I tried pressing the eject button several times, doesn't work, tried via My Computer, doesn't work. What could possibly be wrong? However I can still play the DVD inside, view it's contents, etc. but I cannot eject it.

    My initial guess was that it is a PSU issue, but that can't be it, since I havent ADDED anything new, I just replaced a CD-RW drive with a DVD-RW drive. I can imagine that a DVD-RW would use more power, but it shouldn't be THAT much. Besides, it still works, meaning the PSU still has enough to power the lasers and etc. Also, when I restart, everthing goes back to normal for a while..Any help/Comments?
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  3. #3
    Have you tried manually ejecting the DVD? there should be a tiny little hole on the front of the DVD bay, use a pin or something and push it into the hole, it should eject the Tray.
    I am also thinking that it would also be the DVD that you are using, i'm thinking that it might not be compatible with the DVD drive.
    So it would spin up but when you want to eject it, you will recieve all sorts of grief.
    Also have you tried ejecting the disk once the computer is shutting down? Or when you very first turn it on, try to eject it when your at the Bios screen or something..

    just a few thoughts.

    cheers
    front2back

  4. #4
    Have you tried manually ejecting the DVD? there should be a tiny little hole on the front of the DVD bay, use a pin or something and push it into the hole, it should eject the Tray.
    I am also thinking that it would also be the DVD that you are using, i'm thinking that it might not be compatible with the DVD drive.
    So it would spin up but when you want to eject it, you will recieve all sorts of grief.
    Also have you tried ejecting the disk once the computer is shutting down? Or when you very first turn it on, try to eject it when your at the Bios screen or something..

    just a few thoughts.

    cheers
    front2back

  5. #5
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    make sure that all drivers are up to date
    does it open / close manually WITHOUT media in it ?
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  6. #6
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    make sure that all drivers are up to date
    does it open / close manually WITHOUT media in it ?
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  7. #7
    Senior Member ShippMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    165
    Hi,

    I had a very similar problem.

    I had a creative DVD drive that was 2 years old. Basically one day i put a dvd in watched it and then the thing wouldn't eject, I took the DVD out manually as F2B suggest, and just figured it had issues with that DVD. Well next time i put a CD in that i always use, ran fine and then again wouldn't eject.

    I tried a whole lot of things including checking all connections etc, but the thing just wouldn't eject when there was something in it. In the end as it was out of warranty i had to bin it, it was just fortunate that A) it was only a DVD reader and not writer, and B) a mate had a spare that he was didn't want, gave it to me for free, and its been going strong for the past 2 years.

    Probably not an answer you're looking for but its all i got...
    www.simpleits.co.uk
    www.tazforum.**********.com
    Google is god ....... of the Internet

  8. #8
    Senior Member ShippMA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    165
    Hi,

    I had a very similar problem.

    I had a creative DVD drive that was 2 years old. Basically one day i put a dvd in watched it and then the thing wouldn't eject, I took the DVD out manually as F2B suggest, and just figured it had issues with that DVD. Well next time i put a CD in that i always use, ran fine and then again wouldn't eject.

    I tried a whole lot of things including checking all connections etc, but the thing just wouldn't eject when there was something in it. In the end as it was out of warranty i had to bin it, it was just fortunate that A) it was only a DVD reader and not writer, and B) a mate had a spare that he was didn't want, gave it to me for free, and its been going strong for the past 2 years.

    Probably not an answer you're looking for but its all i got...
    www.simpleits.co.uk
    www.tazforum.**********.com
    Google is god ....... of the Internet

  9. #9
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    No, once I restart, I can eject it normally. I thought about the manual ejection but first wanted to see you're comments. I also tried with 2 DVDs (both 'bootleg'), one just didn't play, I had to restart to eject it, the second one, played but wasn't able to eject it.

    EDIT: Manual ejection doesn't work.
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

  10. #10
    Senior Member Raion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    New York, New York
    Posts
    1,299
    No, once I restart, I can eject it normally. I thought about the manual ejection but first wanted to see you're comments. I also tried with 2 DVDs (both 'bootleg'), one just didn't play, I had to restart to eject it, the second one, played but wasn't able to eject it.

    EDIT: Manual ejection doesn't work.
    WARNING: THIS SIGNATURE IS SHAREWARE PLEASE REGISTER THIS SIGNATURE BY SENDING ME MONEY TO SEE THE COMPLETE SIGNATURE!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •