proxies
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: proxies

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    waraynon.com
    Posts
    93

    proxies

    my other problem(well, just a sort of) is setting up a proxy server. do you guys have any tutorials regarding how to setup a proxy server what softwares (or hardware?) will i use for the network? i got 50 workstations and 2 server. am running up a windows(ouch!) server.

    thanks a lot...again.
    .sig na ture.

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    20
    You have a couple of options,

    1) You could go out and buy Microsoft ISA Server 2004 and install it in caching mode instead of firewall mode, it's great and can produce reports based on user accounts or ip address, you can also set this up so when ever someone goes to use the internet they can be prompted for a domain username and password which makes blocking certin peoples access to the internet or certin sites a breeze

    2) You could put a linux box in their to do basically the same thing but unless your familiar with linux then it will take a while

    I would recomede ISA 2004 if your using Windows server 2003 as it will only take a few hours to set up as apposed to a few days depending on your skill level.

    Memnoch

  3. #3
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    Originally posted here by Memnoch
    you can also set this up so when ever someone goes to use the internet they can be prompted for a domain username and password {..}
    If you setup ISA to use NTLM authentication both IE and Firefox will logon automagicly (without prompting the user) using the current user's credentials.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    waraynon.com
    Posts
    93
    Can i use that that ISA 2004 proxy for my web server?
    .sig na ture.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    20
    ISA 2004 is a firewall/web caching application and doesn't have an email server inbuilt, if you wish to run an email server on the same box you would have to run microsoft exchange server

    Memnoch

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    waraynon.com
    Posts
    93
    ok..thanks a lot.
    .sig na ture.

  7. #7
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    With 50 users you could upgrade to the MS Small Business Server which is cheaper to buy as a bundle....


    You get Exchange,IIS and sharepoint with the standard version...
    or go for the premium version and you also get ISA and SQL

    Cheaper then buying seperate....although has to reside on one machine...good hardware is needed


    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    waraynon.com
    Posts
    93
    that would be a good one but the budget was used buying some new computer units. think am goin to use the ISA. thanks anyway.
    .sig na ture.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    32
    You could get a stand-alone box to set on your network to do this... Don't ask me right now, but there is a free lin. program that turns your box into a proxy. Give me a little while and I will remember what it is called. THis is probably not an option because of the network... But it is an idea.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    20
    Squid is the linux proxy application, it isn't to hard to setup and run but has less features then ISA depending on what you want to do with it, ISA has better reporting with AD so you can tell which user has been where and then apply a more granular access list to the users

    Memnoch

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •