No save for work stations
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No save for work stations

No save for work stations

Hello,

Trying to figure out what forum to post this to was the most difficult part. I work for an office that had a forced relocation to another state (about 90% relocated, 10% were allowed to stay at the previous city--you know, the chocalate one). Our IT department was tasked with finding a way to make workstations in our old office (Which run either W2k or xp) unable to save anything anywhere to the local PC or local servers that remain. No one tells us why--I suspect there's a tax issue involved. State2 is where things can be saved, State1 rdp's to state2. In short order I found MS GPMC as a promising tool, however I'm no security expert-I'm a progammer.

I need to pick your brains (brains...mmmmmm lol). What is your preferred method of achieving this? This seems silly to many (it does to us), however we are stuck with this inane directive and have to make it work. We already have WYSE terminals and we could dole these out to state1 users, but somehow this is not the preferred solution--go figure? So what is your preferred method of emasculating your PC's--don't blame me I'm just following orders.
    SP

This is a very strange request and I am not sure whether it is really achievable but the logical option you have is to set the ACLs on the file system on both the local PC's and the servers to not allow anyone (who you don't want to) to have write access to any part of the filesystem on the drives on those machines.

To do this from a central location you could use Group Policy on the machines in state 1 to lock down the file systems so that only the user and system accounts you want have access to those file systems.

This is specified under the Security Settings/Options of Computer Configuration in the group folicy tree.
    Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\File System