Problems installing SuSE Linux 10.0
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 32

Thread: Problems installing SuSE Linux 10.0

  1. #1
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298

    Problems installing SuSE Linux 10.0

    hi to all the Linux Gurus n Experts

    The problem I m encountering is not during the installation!!

    Hav got the complete 5 cd pack of Suse 10.0, and the OS installs perfectly!!

    The problem comes when it asks for USERNAME n PASSWORD, the setup didnt asked me to give login details (eventhough I can c a heading "Root Password" under the "Configure" heading during install)

    So, its like I hav an OS in front of me completely installed but I cant use it jst coz I dun hav the login details!!

    I tried running CD 1 again n again, but I didnt come up with a solution.

    So, AO was my first n last choice where I can find the solution.

    Tell me, if I am missing something or I need to take some further steps.

    Also, I have already tried re-installing the OS but there was no luck in that too......

    Help me out, guys

    thnx
    CodeNameVirus

  2. #2
    BANNED
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    724
    Try typing in root for user and leave the pass blank and if that doesn't work then
    from your boot mananger use the command 'linux single'
    this will load into root account without any password then issue the 'passwd' command
    When death sleeps it dreams of you...

  3. #3
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    hi

    Try typing in root for user and leave the pass blank
    the OS isnt accepting "root" as username!!

    when I enter root as username, it says "Enter the correct order....."( instead of taking to the enter password screen )

    Now, since I am a newbie to linux also, I dont know how to go the "Boot Manager" and trying out the "linux single" command. So, plz tell me how to go abt it!!


    Thnx
    CodeNameVirus

  4. #4
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Originally posted here by muert0
    Try typing in root for user and leave the pass blank and if that doesn't work then
    from your boot mananger use the command 'linux single'
    this will load into root account without any password then issue the 'passwd' command
    That does not work on SUSE. However, during the install it should ask to create users. during install there is a screen that asks you to set a password for root unless it was skipped, so you might want to try a reinstall to set up the root account (It happens AFTER the machine reboots)...
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  5. #5
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    hi gore

    my machine did a re-boot and then it asked for further installation of packages in CDs 2-5

    but it didnt came up with a Password screen!!

    I'll try re-installing again if u say so, but isnt there any other method??

    thnx
    CodeNameVirus

  6. #6
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    Well you aren't going to be able to. There isn't a way to change the root password without having it already.
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  7. #7
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    hmm......ok!!

    I'll re-install it right, now!!

    Will tell waht happens.....
    CodeNameVirus

  8. #8
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    hi

    I re-installed it, and then it does asked for a password(last time I took a wrong turn midway!!)

    But, now I committed another blunder, after installing, in configuration phase, when it detects hardware settings, I mistakenly set my display resolution to 1280 * 720(my monitor doesnt accpet resolution more than 1024*768). So, everytime I boot my Suse linux OS, the monitor goes off and shows a message "Syn. Out of Range". But since its a graphical problem, my CUI works fine(Suse Linux(FailSafe)).

    The question is that, is there a way by which I can change my resolution?? (without re-installing, ofcourse!!)
    CodeNameVirus

  9. #9
    AO BOFH: Luser Abuser BModeratorFH gore's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    7,177
    As root:

    sax2
    Kill the lights, let the candles burn behind the pumpkins’ mischievous grins, and let the skeletons dance. For one thing is certain, The Misfits have returned and once again everyday is Halloween.The Misfits FreeBSD
    Cannibal Holocaust
    SuSE Linux
    Slackware Linux

  10. #10
    Senior Member codenamevirus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Faridabad, Haryana, India
    Posts
    298
    hi gore

    the sax2 command as rootm didnt worked out!!

    when i typed in the command as root, it again led to the same screen where the display resolution was 1280*720 i.e. greater than limit of my monitor. As a result, my monitor blanked out again and displayed a colorful message "Syn. Out Of Range"(same as before)!!

    What I need is a command by which I can change the resolution of the screen(in CUI, without re-installing the OS)

    Thnx
    CodeNameVirus

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •