Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MSN Messenger & Security

MSN Messenger & Security

Hello,

I'm new in security concerns, but trying to learn... I recently heard that someone can get your IP through an MSN chat. Is that true? I am really interested since I have people from online games on the list, which I don't entirely trust.

Also, I have heard from a different source that finding your IP is only possible when transferring a file. Is THAT true?

Thank you in advance!

You can get someones IP addy through any IM service if you directly connect (like when you send files).

Under normal circumstances (right now I'm assuming msn works like AIM does, I don't know the particulars on how msn works) and that theres a server you chat through which adds some security against people getting your addy, as long as you don't directly connect you should be safe.

I'm an advid gamer as well and I don't think that the majority of gamers should pose as a threat to you

Just Another Geek

Re: MSN Messenger & Security

Originally posted here by CyberNGA
    I recently heard that someone can get your IP through an MSN chat. Is that true? I am really interested since I have people from online games on the list, which I don't entirely trust.
    What do you hope to gain by knowing their IP address? Or are you worried they might know yours?
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Here's my IP: 80.126.205.137

Now that was scary.. brr !!

People knowing your IP is like people knowing your home adress..
    If you need anything from them, they or some carier need to know it..
    ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI.
    When in Russia, pet a PETSCII.

Get your ass over to SLAYRadio the best station for C64 Remixes !

Just Another Geek
    Originally posted here by the_JinX
    Here's my IP: 127.0.0.1

Now that was scary.. brr !!
    Warm up your harddrive and kick snort into gear.. here I come.. LOL
    Oliver's Law: