prerequisites for metasploit
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: prerequisites for metasploit

  1. #1
    Senior Member HackerzMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    114

    Question Prerequisites for Metasploit?

    Hi everyone, what do i need to know in order to use Metasploit efficiently? And what version do you recommend me to start with?
    thanks
    The second step on the way to become a hacker is to run GNU/Linux. (first step is to buy a computer)
    My old skewl http://www.skoz.nl/spelevaert/

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,401
    I would RTFM first and use the latest version....
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi everyone, what do i need to know in order to use Metasploit efficiently?
    What is it you are trying to achieve? The answer to your question lies in what you are trying to do and in what environment.



  4. #4
    Senior Member HackerzMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    114
    SirDice: first of all nice to meet a dutch guy! i am a dutch living in UAE. but can`t I just use v2.5 and keep it up-to-date rather than downloading the new version which needs adittional programming skills in other porgramming languages? (ruby)
    nihil: Well, pen testing, exploit research on all platforms, patch my windows LAN with up to date patches.
    The second step on the way to become a hacker is to run GNU/Linux. (first step is to buy a computer)
    My old skewl http://www.skoz.nl/spelevaert/

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    OK mech,

    How about look at it from the other end? I am suggesting that you look at additional functionality of the versions, and go back to where you get to the first "cannot do without". That is your version and you must advance your skills forwards to meet that.

    It kind of reminds me of Corel Draw..........you only got the version that did what you needed?


  6. #6
    Senior Member HackerzMaster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    114
    OK, thanks pal
    The second step on the way to become a hacker is to run GNU/Linux. (first step is to buy a computer)
    My old skewl http://www.skoz.nl/spelevaert/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •