strange behaviour of IE
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: strange behaviour of IE

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    219

    strange behaviour of IE

    hi all,

    i am a bit confused.

    I have a laptop having win 2K. My dad used to use it, n now he gave it to me. its not been used since a long time.

    Now, Whenever i connect the internet (i have cable net) from it, it starts opening new
    IE windows for unknown sites. My laptop is not having any popup blocker/ spyware. The antivirus is not having uptodate definitions.

    But when i connect the same net from my desktop PC, it works fine. my desktop PC is having popup blockers and antivirus.

    please help.
    Now is the moment, or NEVER!!!

  2. #2
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    You've got a classic case of spyware. Run Ad-Aware and Spybot, clean out anything they find.

    It would behoove you to first download Firefox for a web browser. A clean install of Firefox at this point will give you a useable browser for now.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  3. #3
    They call me the Hunted foxyloxley's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    3rd Rock from Sun
    Posts
    2,528
    and CWShredder too

    get it here

    run through this tutorial

    it will help you out

    [edit]
    and DON'T change browsers yet .......
    fix the issues THEN change
    but fix the underlying problems first ...........
    55 - I'm fiftyfeckinfive and STILL no wiser,
    OLDER yes
    Beware of Geeks bearing GIF's
    come and waste the day :P at The Taz Zone

  4. #4
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Originally posted here by brokencrow
    You've got a classic case of spyware. Run Ad-Aware and Spybot, clean out anything they find.

    It would behoove you to first download Firefox for a web browser. A clean install of Firefox at this point will give you a useable browser for now.

    It would probably be a good idea to get rid of your spyware before you start downloading and installing new web browsers!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  5. #5
    Senior Member nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi,

    I would check to see what you have the installation CDs for, you might want to consider a reformat and reinstall?

    Assuming that you do not:

    1. Get a firewall download it on a protected machine, burn it to CD, and install it on the laptop. ZoneAlarm will be adequate for the moment.

    2. Get an AV and update it, run it in Safe Mode Avast! and AVG are two reasonable free ones.

    3. Update Windows (and IE)..................you will be quite a few security patches behind.

    4. Get:

    Spybot Search & Destroy
    Ewido
    A-Squared
    AdAware

    Update them, and run in safe mode.

    Go to the Trend Micro site and run the PC-Cillin "Housecall" online scanner.

    That should get you started

  6. #6
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Greeting's

    You must spread your AntiPoints around before giving it to nihil again.


    but anyway seriously we must have some kind of a direct hyperlink or we should make that SPYWARE REMOVAL TUTORIAL a STICKY IN THE SPYWARE AND ADWARE FORUM.

    Anyway coming back to the topic I think foxyloxley and nihil have provided more then enough information to keep your PC clean from now. If you continue to use IE here are some tips :

    Control Panel
    Network and Internet connections
    Internet Options
    General
    Temporary internet files
    Settings
    Set to: Every visit to page
    Days to keep pages in history
    Set to: 0
    Security
    Internet
    Custom level
    Reset to: High
    Reset (yes)
    Scroll down to "File download"
    Set to: Enable (yes)
    Local intranet
    Sites
    Make sure nothing is selected
    Trusted sites
    Sites
    Add following web site to the zone:

    add: *.microsoft.com
    add: *.passport.com

    If you dont add microsoft to trusted website's list then you will not be able to update your PC
    Make sure "require server verification" is not selected!
    Move the tab to "Medium"
    Restricted Sites
    Custom level
    Reset to: High
    Reset (yes)
    Scroll down to "File download"
    Set to: Enable (yes)
    Privacy
    Advanced
    Override automatic cookie handling
    First party cookies: Block
    Third party cookies: Block
    Enable: Always allow session cookies
    Content
    Autocomplete
    Disable all
    Clear forms (yes)
    Clear passwords (yes)
    Programs
    Disable: Internet Explorer should check whether it is the default web browser
    Advanced
    Disable everything else, but enable the following
    + Always send URL:s as UTF 8
    + Disable script debugging
    + Enable folder view on FTP sites
    + Enable page transitions
    + Show friendly http error messages
    + Show go button in address bar
    + Use passive ftp
    + Use smooth scrolling
    + Use http 1.1
    + Use http 1.1 through proxy connections
    + Dont display online media content in the media bar
    + Play animations in webpages
    + Play sounds in webpages
    + Play videos in webpages
    + Show pictures
    + Smart image dithering
    + Check for publishers certificate revocation
    + Check for server certificate revocation
    + Check signatures on downloaded programs
    + Do not save encrypted pages to disk
    + Use SSL 3.0
    + Use TLS 1.0
    + Warn about invalid site certificates
    + Warn if form submittal is being redirected

    I personally dont prefer IE not because its deemed as an unsecured web browser but because its more intigrated to the OS and thats why its more vulnerable. I would personally prefer you ro change your browser.

    One more thing DONT USE YOUR ADMIN ACCOUNT FOR BROWSING (DONT USE IT FOR ANYTHING EXCEPT INSTALLATION'S)
    If you must do that use "DropMyrights" by microsoft

    get it from :

    http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...re11152004.asp
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    219
    thanks a billion....

    u people really gave me lots of ways.... now i m glad...

    ya, getting a reinstall of OS is the option, but i want to clean stuff....

    re-installing an OS is really easy but i want to learn how to clean up.

    re-install is not a problem as i dont have much data in my laptop.

    i will try all this.... n will surely get back to you ppl!!!

    Thanks again!!!
    Now is the moment, or NEVER!!!

  8. #8
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Greeting's

    You might want to show us your Hijackthis log to be sure that your system is clean if you are going to re-install then update before coming online for that download autopatcher.
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  9. #9
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,243
    Also try CCleaner. It's great for removing all the temp files on a Windows-based PC. Temp files cause a lot more problems than people realize.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    219
    As recommended, I used ZoneAlarm, but after installing it, I am unable to access my internet.
    Now is the moment, or NEVER!!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •