Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Possible Scam

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003

    Possible Scam

    Hey Hey,

    Dunno if this is a scam or not.. I'm sure it is though.. but I found it amusing none the less.. maybe tech humour is a better spot for it

    Dear Sir/Madam, Hello! We are internet hackers crew - Web-hack. We propose you for sale some interesting things: - private exploits - http://forum.web-hack.ru - stolen credit cards and bank accounts - http://forum.web-hack.ru - we infect users pc's with your trojan for low prices (10000 infected pc's for 25$) - http://forum.web-hack.ru - bulletproof domains and hosting - http://forum.web-hack.ru Best offer - bulletproof domain + hosting =0 usd/week. You can use this hosting for any scam/fraud and nobody will close it! For more information look at - http://forum.web-hack.ru P.S. We are registering bulletproof domains on our partner site http://www.r01.ru/ there we have "our" people to guarantee stability of our domains and hosting so any organization like spamhaus.org cannot down our hosting and domains. We are now spaming 5 000 000 people look out the domain is alive as always and never gonna be down !! Please go and order our services at: http://forum.web-hack.ru Msg-ID: 556070
    That's the email that I was sent..

    Headers are

    Return-Path: <noreply-54@ww-ny.web-hack.ru>
    Delivery-Date: Mon, 06 Mar 2006 07:56:59 -0500
    Received-SPF: none (mxus4: is neither permitted nor denied by domain of ww-ny.web-hack.ru) client-ip=; envelope-from=noreply-54@ww-ny.web-hack.ru; helo=STN22;
    Received: from [] (helo=STN22)
    by mx.perfora.net (node=mxus4) with ESMTP (Nemesis),
    id 0MKvEQ-1FGFGk2fKV-0003L9 foremail@address.com; Mon, 06 Mar 2006 07:56:59 -0500
    Message-ID: <002e01c6411e$d30026e9$7b153c0a@STN22>
    From: <noreply-54@ww-ny.web-hack.ru>
    To: <email@address.com>
    Subject: Internet hackers crew webhack - www.web-hack.ru Ref: 231
    Date: Mon, 06 Mar 2006 05:06:47 -0700
    MIME-Version: 1.0
    Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
    X-Priority: 3
    X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
    X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2900.2180
    X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2180
    Envelope-To: email@address.com
    Is this spam or a scam.. or a little of both?

    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Well, I used a proxy and went over and looked. There's a forum there (I think that's what it was) but a lot of the stuff was written in Romanian, so I don't know what it was saying. Doesn't look like the kind of place to be hanging out.
    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    (Romans 6:23, WEB)

  3. #3
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Shawnee country
    That's a Canadian ip address the email originated from, but that probably means some newbie's computer in Ottawa is runnin' slow, as in "own3d".

    The web-hack.ru domain comes via Moskow. Sounds like a hosting outfit. They got a range of ip addresses. Ping the domain and check RIPE's whois database for more particulars.

    I'd love to scan these guys but I'm probably not in their league. Maybe do it from a coffeehouse one morn.

    Sounds like a roughneck bunch if you ask me...
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    It's Russian, not Romanian

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Originally posted here by Negative
    It's Russian, not Romanian
    Thanks. I assumed it was Romanian because I thought the .ru domain name was for Romanian, but I guess Russian would make better sense
    For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.
    (Romans 6:23, WEB)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts