Problem with backing up mailboxes when deleting AD account.
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Problem with backing up mailboxes when deleting AD account.

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    63

    Problem with backing up mailboxes when deleting AD account.

    Hi all.

    I have a question regarding backing up mailboxes with Arcserve (v.11.0 in this case).

    When I create a new backup I can configure all the mailboxes I want to backup. However, when I delete an account within the Active Directory (and therefore also the mailbox) it still exists in the Arcserve backup job. I can obviously take turn off backing up the mailbox within the job, but in a few companies with a high rate of change in personnel it get's a little tedious with all the old mailboxes haning about.

    I found that deleting the job and recreating it works fine, but I was wondering if anybody knows of a simpeler and more efficient way to do this.

    Thanks in advance for your help.

    Morvai.

  2. #2
    You need to go into the Exchange System Manager, drill down to the mailboxes (under Mailbox Store) and run the Cleanup Agent. The boxes that have no AD account to match will have a little red X on them. Right-click on them and select Purge. Backups will work flawlessly now.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    63
    I'll give that a try! Thanks for your input.

    Morvai.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •