Open SSH

Thread: Open SSH

Open SSH

i'm interested in implementing open SSH into my system to keep my passwords n such safe,my isp recommends them.

however my OS doesn't seem to be on the list of supported OS's,i'm running xp by the way.

can you in fact use it with xp?? or are there similar or in fact better programs to use??

how would i go about setting this type of thing up as i am very new to this kind of thing.

I use a program called Putty on my Windows machines. It allows me SSH access to my linux servers.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

Re: Open SSH

Originally posted here by AstralVortex
    i'm interested in implementing open SSH into my system to keep my passwords n such safe,my isp recommends them.

however my OS doesn't seem to be on the list of supported OS's,i'm running xp by the way.

can you in fact use it with xp?? or are there similar or in fact better programs to use??

how would i go about setting this type of thing up as i am very new to this kind of thing.
    AV: I'm going to have to ask if you know what SSH is.... because I highly doubt your ISP recommends you implement it... most ISP's frown upon running servers.

You can run SSH while on Windows... check out cygwin if you're really interested.

Now for a bit of background.

SSH is a Secure Shell... Usually to a *nix server or a networking device... however it can run on pretty much anything... The idea is to use it instead of rlogin or telnet, which will send your passwords in plain text. SSH negotiates and uses encryption so that nothing can be viewed or sniffed by a third party... unless of course they perform a MitM attack, but that's a whole nother story....

So yeah.. what exactly are you looking for?

Peace,
    HT
    IT Blog: .:Computer Defense:.
    PnCHd (Pronounced Pinched): Acronym - Point 'n Click Hacked. As in: "That website was pinched" or "The skiddie pinched my computer because I forgot to patch".