Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SUSE 10.0 X issues

SUSE 10.0 X issues

I have had little experience with Linux on widescreen laptops (WXGA) and whose manufacturers don't produce documentation for. Yes, I'm talking about an Advent.

I just installed SUSE 10.0 (standard installation with custom partitioning) as a dual boot with Windows XP. I previously had Mandriva 2006 (used for tutorial examples), and before that Vector Linux 5.1. And, can you believe that out of the three distros I've had on this PC, only Vector was the one to correctly configure my X server? (gore, this isn't a shot at you )

I've been trying to configure my resolution and the monitor's drivers for the past half hour, but I haven't made much progress. First of all, I tried selecting the VESA driver in YAST2 - but it does not support 1280x800 (or any other widescreen resolution for that matter). I thought wtf, I'll give it a shot. I set it up as 1024x768 VESA with a refresh rate of 60, chose the resolution as 1280x800 with 16 bit colour and then tested it - the test ran perfectly. I couldn't compare the resolution without any icons in the test, but it looked a bit better..

Anyway, I switched to another tty, killed X, then it started automatically. The login resolution looked alright, so I thought I'd done it. I then logged in as root, KDE loaded, and then I was presented with the same ugly resolution:

http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/4...apshot15rg.png

Well - that spread over a 1280x800 screen.

So, I went back into YAST2 and switched the driver to the generic LCD one, with 1280x800 and refresh rate 75. I set the resolution as 1280x800 WXGA again (it had reset itself to 800x600) and then ran the test. Looking better. Saved the changes (as shown in the attached image), then restarted the computer completely. Back to the login - looks good. Login as root, KDE comes up, BAM - same old ugliness. I checked the settings in YAST2 and they had reset themselves back to this: