Can't scan for open networks
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can't scan for open networks

  1. #1
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238

    Can't scan for open networks

    Hi,
    My laptop runs windows2000, and for some reason there is nowhere to scan for a wifi network. I know there are 3 wifi networks here, because my xp box picks them up, but I can only get a network if I know it's name.

    Is there a bit in windows 2000 that scans for networks?

    It's just that where I am moving to they have an open network, and it is a bit crap that I won't be able to use it.

    Please help, don't want to have to install xp on this just yet.


    Fried Jelly
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  2. #2
    Senior Member kr5kernel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Posts
    347
    http://www.netstumbler.com/
    check this out. Haven't run W2K in a while to tell you if there is a scanning agent like in XP.
    kr5kernel
    (kr5kernel at hotmail dot com)
    Linux: Making Penguins Cool Since 1994.

  3. #3
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    128
    goto the nic's manufacturer's website and look for software that is to be used with your nic.

  4. #4
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    For Windows 2000, you'll need a 3rd party wireless client utility, or as Digoy stated, check the manufacturers website for one that will work with your particular wireless card.

    Check this link for a little more info:
    http://groups.google.com/group/micro...20d6ba7bdbcb71
    - Maverick

  5. #5
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    That would explain it then, I tried netstumbler, and it worked at first and found two networks that were on line, then over the space of 3 mins, it cut my internet link, and then both networks disappeared and my network icon said network cable unplugged.

    It is not a problem as I just shut down stumbler, and disable wireless, then enable again, and I can get online, but how can I fix this little issue with netstumbler, do I have a conflict somewhere??

    Flying Jonnys synthetic masterpiece
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  6. #6
    Top Gun Maverick811's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    852
    Originally posted here by JonnyFrond
    That would explain it then, I tried netstumbler, and it worked at first and found two networks that were on line, then over the space of 3 mins, it cut my internet link, and then both networks disappeared and my network icon said network cable unplugged.

    It is not a problem as I just shut down stumbler, and disable wireless, then enable again, and I can get online, but how can I fix this little issue with netstumbler, do I have a conflict somewhere??

    I don't currently use Netstumbler, but I seem to remember a similar issue a while back on my Win2K laptop....

    I could be completely wrong, but for some reason I'm thinking my problems were related to the type of wireless card I had in my laptop..... What wireless card do you have in your machine?
    - Maverick

  7. #7
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    I have an IBM 802.11b wireless lan slotted into a thinkpad (which I love )



    Flowers Frond
    Sarcasm is a way of life

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides