Overclocking monitor

Thread: Overclocking monitor

Banned

Overclocking monitor

That's right. I have a 17" Samsung Syncmaster 750s. My max resolution is 1280x1024 at 60Hz. You can actually see the lines travel across the monitor. I have an ATI 9200 and it can refresh at 160Hz at 1280x1024. I went into the advanced settings in my display properties and overrode the stock setting of my monitor up to 85Hz. I want to go to 160Hz cause it's so quick, but I'm scared cause it says anything past the recommended could damage the hardware and a monitor is not on my list to buy right now. Should 85Hz be ok.

On a side note it's amazing how the faster Hz can actually increase the load time of programs. No lag, just pop. Perhaps some of the lag is caused by my monitor. I didn't really think about it, but I guess it's possible. Can't display as fast as my computer can produce.

I am moving this thread to "Hardware" because that is really what it is about.

As some of you may know, I rant prolifically about "balance"..................what is the point of a $500 video card on a $100 monitor

I would not recommend using any setting not supported by your monitor ............you will pretty soon have to buy a new one if you do, and the one you have just trashed will be worthless.

As for refresh rates.................60Hz is "safe mode" (sometimes 58). It flickers and will give you a headache.

Comfortable settings are between 72 and 85 for "normal" or "average" use, and the higher values are for animated graphics.

HINT/TIP

If you are having problems in getting a data projector to display a correctly proportioned image, try altering the refresh rate...................I have known that work wonders

SECOND POST: NO APPOLOGIES

DO NOT OVERCLOCK YOUR MONITOR unless you are a qualified electronics technician and really know what you are doing.

With old and cheap equipment, they may not have the adequate thermal cut-outs................