Wireless nightmare
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Wireless nightmare

  1. #1
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238

    Wireless nightmare

    Hi guys,

    I hope this is simple, basically, I have moved house to somewhere that has a Blekin wireless router. It is open and not encrypted. (Deal with this later)

    I have an xp machine, with a USB wireless dongle, and in the network scans, up comes 6 networks, of which 5 are open, and one of these is the lovely network I want to connect to, with a strong signal and everything, but when I click connect, it just won't.

    the network says "On Demand" and there is a star next to it with full signal.

    What have I not done to make this connect?


    Stressed Onion Fronds
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  2. #2
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    Make sure you have DHCP enabled on the wireless card.
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  3. #3
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    Ok, DHCP is enabled. IP address is being got automatically, and so is DNS.

    What next?
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  4. #4
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    also, how do you connect to the router, I always thought it was 192.168.0.1, but that doesn't work, what else could it be, it is a Belkin Router?
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  5. #5
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Usually for belkin its 192.168.2.1

    take a look at what is your default gateway - it will be the same thing!If you get connected to it that is!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  6. #6
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    This is still very strange, as I have another XP machine that seems to be configured exactly the same that does get on the net fine and dandy.

    What else could be the problem?
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  7. #7
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Log on to the router with the Xp box and check the settings - look for any MAC address filtering or IP restrictions.
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  8. #8
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    Checked that too, and I checked to see that the wireless contraption was working properly.

    It just has a little red x on it. It picks it up, but refuses to connect.

    Fruuuuurp
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  9. #9

    xp problems

    Hm......I'm thinking it is the usb dongle @ fault.

    1. If you are using the client manager to connect to the network, do you have Windows Wireless Configuration disabled? vice versa.

    2. Reinstall the drivers to the card. What happens then?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,024
    try your usb thing in the other comp, see if it works.
    [H]ard|OCP <--Best hardware/gaming news out there--|
    pwned.nl <--Gamers will love this one --|
    Light a man a fire and you\'ll keep him warm for a day, Light a man ON fire and you\'ll keep him warm the rest of his life.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •