Active Directory group memberships

Thread: Active Directory group memberships

Active Directory group memberships

Hi,
    This is my first time posting and I have to say, I am really impressed with these forums. I'm hoping someone has an answer to this.
    One of our managers had a few of his group memberships removed from his active directory account. The domain controllers have all had their event logs deleted. Is there anyway to find out who may have modified this users account? Is anyone familiar with Semantic database analysis and will this help me?
    Thanks in advance!

Sorry I don't have an answer to you question but just a comment on your problem.

I think I know the answer to this question but I will ask it anyway.

Are you archiving and backing up your event logs?

If you aren't you should be, the event logs are pointless (particularly the Security Eventlog) if you do not have an appropriate strategy to archive and retain (in case you need to forensically analyse them) these logs to ensure you are not losing important security information.

When you say they have been deleted, do you mean someone has gone in there and deleted the event logs manually or have they been overwritten as part of "normal" use. If someone has manually deleted them you have a BIG problem because you have a disgruntled user with Admin access to your DC, how many admins are there in the organisation and worse how many are/could be disgruntled?

Even if the eventlogs have been 'overwritten' with other data you still have a problem because again you are losing important security information that you now require, you may need to look at your log file rotation policy (via Group Policy Management Console) and increase your log file size and change the rotation policy.