Does using DMA make your computer Slower?
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Does using DMA make your computer Slower?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    150

    Does using DMA make your computer Slower?

    Does using DMA (direct memory access ) make your computer slower. In my case it does. On my 3.2 Ghz P4 HT cpu with 1GB of ram it takes,(with dma on) twice as long to rip a full length dvd to the hard drive than it does my older 2.53GHz P4 cpu wih 512MB ram.
    I'm wondering why it's slower, because I thought DMA would make it faster. The DVD drive on my new computer is also faster and a faster harddrive( serial compared to IDE) as well. So I was wondering if I should turn DMA off or something, because it doesn't make sense at all.

  2. #2
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Not all drives support DMA. If you enable it and it is unsupported - obviously this will lead to problems!

    If your system seems to be going faster when it is disabled, I would say this is a sure sign that something in your setup doesn't support it.

    Check your manual first - or post the make of your DVD RW / HDD!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    150
    Do you know how I can turn it back off with Windows XP machine?

  4. #4
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    http://www.real-knowledge.com/dma.htm

    You may still be able to leave it enabled for either the HDD or DVD RW - depending if they support it.

    The site I linked to will help you!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    150
    There is only one option for the transfer mode other than DMA and it's "PIO only", should I select that option to turn it off?

  6. #6
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/device...e/IDE-DMA.mspx

    PIO is the fallback mode for when things go wrong, and it is slower.
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •