Remote Administration
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Remote Administration

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    228

    Remote Administration

    Hey everyone,

    I've been using remote desktop for Windows, but was looking into some other type of remote administration type of software I can use. I did some google searches and came up with a few, but wanted to check with the members here to see what they would recommend.

  2. #2
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    RealVNC is excellent and they have a free version of it!

    http://www.realvnc.com/
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    228
    Rean VNC is one I"ve used a few times in the past. Any security issues with the free version?

  4. #4
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Yep..it alows you to take over someones computer....remotley!
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    228
    Haha... yeah. I was actually reading up on it right now. Looks like the Enterprise Edition has a lot more security features with it. I guess what makes it stand out, so far, is that it runs using the Java Virtual Machine.

    Have you ever used the Enterpise Edition? I remember back when I used VNC (free version), it set the ports on the router for me. I know this sounds like a security issue, but I kinda want that. The people on the other end don't know how to set up port forwarding, which makes it tough for me to set up Remote Desktop (Windows).

  6. #6
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Is this the same people in your other thread?

    Im not sure about the security issues with the free version - we used the free version in my last job which was with a pretty bif telecoms company who are paraniod about security - I dont think they would use it if it was too easy to exploit.

    But again dont take my word for that!

    IIRC it is prety self configuring - dont think it will be able to change open ports on your router though -you will prolly have to do this yourself! if the people your trying to help dont know how to do it they can always allow remote administration for the router so you can log on over the net and do it for them.
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    228
    Haha, man..I tried that. I had trouble talking them through their router interface. That's the problem with these GUI interfaces, they're not all the same. I don't think they have any beefy routers anyway, probably just some home versions with everything set to default.

    I'll probably try the free version of VNC. Once installed, I could probably set everything else up myself.

    Have you ever tried msn messenger and remote assistance? I can get it to work within Hawaii, but not other states.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •