need a little help - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29

Thread: need a little help

  1. #11
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    Originally posted here by brokencrow
    No, I meant what I said. Internet Explorer, poorly configured or not.



    All software has its vulnerabilities, including Firefox. It's the vulnerabilities it doesn't have, ActiveX and embedding, that make it much safer. Of course, you can download the ActiveX plug-in for Firefox, but I don't reco' it. And there's no doing away with Explorer's kernel status. Hack IE and you can get into the kernel. Hack Firefox and where are you?

    Just curious, anybody have a browser hijack for Firefox yet?
    If you're concerned about ActiveX vulnerabilities, why not just remove the ability to run ActiveX controls altogether?

    Start -> Run -> MMC -> Add the Local Group Policy Editor -> Computer Configuration -> Administrative Templates -> Windows Components -> Internet Explorer -> Internet Control Page -> Security Page -> Lockdown Local Machine Zone. (This does assume you're not running as Admin or else this would hardly be effective. Since running as Admin is foolish, I think this is a safe assumption.)

    As to "embedding", I don't know what it is. Could you please elaborate?

    - X
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    400
    Come on guys....!


    Read what he says on the first post:

    but nothing wants to stay open or run as i said even in safe mode as admin.
    AND

    My desktop icons regularly flash and refresh. Explorer wont stay open. House Call won't run.
    If it was as simple as booting into safe mode and turning stuff off, it would have been addressed.

    LOL.

    Anyways, I further read he got *something* to finally work. Who knows the final outcome, as someone mentioned he hasn't been back since.

    ZT3000
    Beta tester of "0"s and "1"s"

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    400
    And allow me an additional solution:

    Find some nice ol' chap who might allow you to add your harddrive as a slave device to their computer, if you cannot or don't want to buy an external enclosure. Then perform the steps I gave you.
    ZT3000
    Beta tester of "0"s and "1"s"

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    22
    I find simple USB to IDE and usb to SATA cables are always nice to have. Also they're normally cheaper than an enclosure.

  5. #15
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    ...why not just remove the ability to run ActiveX controls altogether?
    I've relegated IE to an antivirus app. How would I scan my hdd for viruses then?
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  6. #16
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    Originally posted here by brokencrow
    I've relegated IE to an antivirus app. How would I scan my hdd for viruses then?
    Why not disallow all ActiveX from any site not in your Trusted Zones list?

    - X
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  7. #17
    Dissident 4dm1n brokencrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Shawnee country
    Posts
    1,242
    Too much work. It's a lot easier installing Opera and Firefox, then using those as my primary browsers. Been using Opera since '98.
    “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.” — Will Rogers

  8. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    400
    Originally posted here by brokencrow
    I've relegated IE to an antivirus app. How would I scan my hdd for viruses then?
    Easy.

    Trendmicro's online scan offers two methods of scanning, both found on the same download screen. They offer browser based ActiveX or Javascript, your choice.

    Panda has since changed their online scan to a "scan but no clean" policy. Instead they encourage you to purchase their program to remove found malware.
    ZT3000
    Beta tester of "0"s and "1"s"

  9. #19
    Hoopy Frood
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Posts
    662
    Originally posted here by brokencrow
    Too much work. It's a lot easier installing Opera and Firefox, then using those as my primary browsers. Been using Opera since '98.
    Then you have no right claiming that Internet Explorer is insecure if it's only because you won't take the time to set some settings.

    - X
    "Personality is only ripe when a man has made the truth his own."

    -- Søren Kierkegaard

  10. #20
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    Excellent point xierox

    Any OS or browser not properly configured\setup\maintained is insecure

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •