"the" bigges problem w/ FF I have (and will stop using it 'cause of ..)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: "the" bigges problem w/ FF I have (and will stop using it 'cause of ..)

  1. #1
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534

    "the" bigges problem w/ FF I have (and will stop using it 'cause of ..)

    This issue has been persistent over many different installations and systems and usually happens during multi-tab/ heavy surfing. Basically what happens is that the browser freezes and you are unable to move from the page. The little circle thingy keeps rotating as if itís still loading the page. The problem itís stuck on one page and you cannot move, either by going via a URL in the page itself or one of your bookmarks. You also cannot stop the circle thingy from rotating by clicking on ĎSTOPí The browser is STUCK.

    The funny thing is that you can actually use everything else on the system and you can Alt-F4 the Firefox or close it by clicking on Ďxí. I donít remember if you can close individual tabs or not. Another problem is that if you close the browser in this way (while stuck), if you try to reopen it, it will ask you to create a different user profile because an instance of firefox is already running (you can see it in Ďtask-managerí. (therefore it didnít really close)

    Any ideas what this **** is and how can I fix it. It happens on some systems more then others but it happens on all systems I use.

    PS: Yes it the latest version.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Hmmmm,

    I have had problems with .pdf files.

    Could it be that you have some corrupt or incompatible extensions?

    http://www.informationweek.com/news/...5800132&pgno=1

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    92
    Must be some extensions/software you have loaded, I have used firefox since its release and on numerous different PC's, and don't ever remember encountering this problem myself.
    I\'m Dying To Find Out The Hard Way

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    i have weather extension and flashblock extension

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    Try uninstalling them, then if that solves the problem install one, test again then install the other.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    AO Ancient: Team Leader
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    5,197
    I'll agree here... Multiple installs on multiple systems and OS's. No extensions or plugins except maybe a couple of video ones and Adobe.

    It's a memory hog and it seems to leak it. Close the app and open your Taskmgr and, lo and behold, it's still running and using 100MB of RAM.

    Ok, so it's worse than NT4 in the way you have to keep killing it and restarting it. But when it is behaving it is more secure and nicer than IE. So I'll keep using it...
    Don\'t SYN us.... We\'ll SYN you.....
    \"A nation that draws too broad a difference between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards, and its fighting done by fools.\" - Thucydides

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    i heard about a browser based on mozilla that is named after a lizard does anyone know what's it called?

    edit

    named after some kind of small lizard ... not "mozilla" itself (if you count gozilla as a lizard)

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,191
    "Gecko"? but I think that is just the name of the engine.
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    this is what i ment

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/K-Meleon

    i guess it's not named after lizard but it has chameleon in the logo

    i found it based on "gecko engine" query so thanx nihil

  10. #10
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    just an update ... i am testing different browsers based on wikipedia entry

    so far i love "dr orca"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides