Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: my parents got pawned ... root kit

Banned

my parents got pawned ... root kit

i found this on the system.

usual symptoms ... weird processes that won't go down ... all around slow

what can i do to kill processes that i know are rootkit servers but even though i'm an admin it won't let me ...

i mean there's gotta be SOMETHING i can do to kill them (short of boot in linux and deleting them)

good luck with the mess... remember to clear the
    prefetch
    system save files
    temp files
    boot into safe mode
    scan for trojans/viruses

use this utility:
    http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/PsKill.html

That is the answer to how to kill the crap. make sure you get spybot and adaware downloaded and updated before you start the adventure
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

what i have seen in such cases that the system never attains the same performance after the removal of rootkit or anyother malicious code. The best case would be to make a backup of the data and try to make a fresh install.

Just my thoughts
    Excuse me, is there an airport nearby large enough for a private jet to land?

You might want to tell everyone upfont
    That zip file contains a RootKit

( not just imply it. ) I know, everyone should know better, and it is zipped so it shouldn't create a problem unless they open it and run it, but you know how that goes ... someone will infect their system!

Trend Micro identifies it as BKDR_HACDEF.GEN

Spyrus's suggestion about PsKill should kill the process ( I don't have a box to infect to find out ) but there may be other files that spawned it still there lurking. Try Trend's solution at the link above, and if that doesn't work ... there's always mmkhan's solution.
    " And maddest of all, to see life as it is and not as it should be" --Miguel Cervantes

Originally posted here by Spyrus

... remember to clear the ...

system save files ...