Need to get around router so I can ssh - Page 3
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: Need to get around router so I can ssh

  1. #21
    "TCP Wrapper and SSH Port Forwarding for 1000 Alex" -RoadClosed

    There's your fix...

    If it is using some form of filtering higher up in the OSI model, your going to have to "wrap" the SSH negotiations in some form that is permitted thru the router. At this point if your still wanting to continue, you'll go grab the help wanted section of the newspaper, and then probe the border perimeter to determine it's characteristics ( Supported protocols, allowed ports, QOS, ...ect)

    It probally would be a better idea to just ask the admin, though....
    We are a generation without a middle. We have no great war or depression. Our war is a spiritual one, our depression is our lives. We were all raised to believe that we\'ll all be millionaires and rockstars - But we won\'t.
    And we are slowly learning this fact...And we are VERY pissed off about it!

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    9
    Thanks for the ideas everybody.
    I'll post back with some results shortly.

    Regards

  3. #23
    Banned
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    534
    i cannot believe noone mentioned netcat...

  4. #24
    AO übergeek phishphreek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    4,324
    Originally posted here by unhappy
    i cannot believe noone mentioned netcat...
    Originally posted here by zENGER
    22 is SSH...

    What you can do, is find a port that is open. Then setup a relay somewhere that listens on that port and forwards to port 22 on that host. Netcat can be used to do this.

    This does require a host to do it on though.
    Quitmzilla is a firefox extension that gives you stats on how long you have quit smoking, how much money you\'ve saved, how much you haven\'t smoked and recent milestones. Very helpful for people who quit smoking and used to smoke at their computers... Helps out with the urges.

  5. #25
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    742
    VPN into home and then SSH from there??? ORRRRRR Remote Destkop into home then VPN from home...

    Just a couple of thoughts
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  6. #26
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    6
    Originally posted here by Spyrus
    VPN into home and then SSH from there??? ORRRRRR Remote Destkop into home then VPN from home...

    Just a couple of thoughts
    Nice ideas! What's a big deal!

    If they block your 22 port, why they let other port open?
    Living is fighting

  7. #27
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    71
    Some ports are required for everyday things. Examples are port 80 for web servers, port 25 for smtp or ports 20 and 21 for ftp. If you block these ports then you lose the service that uses that port.
    If everything looks perfect, then there is something you don\'t know

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •