Cannot view website from internal network
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Cannot view website from internal network

  1. #1
    Senior Member Blunted One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    183

    Question Cannot view website from internal network

    Good day to one and all of the Anti-Online community I have a question and I'm not sure how to proceed.

    My company currently has an external company that has been making a new website and just recently they wanted us to check out their work. I was told to visit a link, but noticed that anytime I tried to access it from our internal network it would give me a "page not found" screen. I thought this was odd as anyone from outside our network could see the proper page.

    I went to dnsstuff and tried to find out some more information and came across something strange. The IP address listed for our site differs from what our internal network lists as our IP address for our website. I am not sure why this is, but apparently the IP address that is listed when I ping our site from our network is from our old website that we had hosted from a company called Pair Networks. Everything outside our network goes to our website hosted by the new company, but internally we cannot get to our site at all and the IP is definatly wrong which I assume is causing us to arrive at a page not found screen.

    What would cause this and what can I check to resolve this? I have tried to flush the dns on my computer but to no avail (perhaps I should do this on the servers?). Is this a problem with our router? firewall? or one of our servers? Why would being inside our office route us to the wrong IP/website and who/what is the culprit causing this to happen? Thanks in advance for your time and help.
    It's not a war on drugs it's a war against personal freedoms!

  2. #2
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    Is this site in the the list of trusted web sites and does your company have a certificate from that web site?

    edit: now that I think about it some more it could be that the reverse lookup is wrong on the DNS but you would need the correct ip to see if this is true.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  3. #3
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    if you are going through a proxy\ISA server out to the internet

    ....clear the cache proxy\isa cache on the server


    We had to do this when we moved our site.

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  4. #4
    Senior Member Blunted One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    183
    How would I check if it is a trusted website and if we have a certificate from the site?

    How would I know if we are going through a proxy\isa server and if so clear the cache on the server?

    Sorry for my incompetence I am trying to learn and don't want to mess anything up in the process.

    Some other things I do know is we are hosted through network solutions who then direct the traffic over to the company that is creating our site. So when you ping our website you get the address for the company that is making out website. This doesn't happen when inside our network, but we can visit one page of our site which is the main www page, but not the new index part the website creators have set up for us to take a look at. This problem only happens within our network and outside it everything seems fine and routes accordingly.
    It's not a war on drugs it's a war against personal freedoms!

  5. #5
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    How would I know if we are going through a proxy\isa server and if so clear the cache on the server?
    Ask your system administrator???

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  6. #6
    IT Specialist Ghost_25inf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    648
    What is your position in the company? are you part of the IT Department? First you need to make sure that you are allowed to add this site to the trusted sites, this is done by clicking on tools and choose internet options, clcik the privacy tab and choose sites, add the site into there and choose allow. Ussually the certificate can be found somewhere on the server, just ask the helpdesk for help.
    S25vd2xlZGdlIGlzIHBvd2VyIQ

  7. #7
    Senior Member Blunted One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    183
    All we have is a exchange server, application server, backup server and on the app server is also a wiki page running for our employees only availible internally. I assume we do not have a proxy\isa server. It is just a regular setup with router, firewall, exchange server, app server, backup server. All website hosting is done through network solutions and 10e20 who make our site.

    Is there anything else I should find out or perhaps something I am not aware of that is causing this internal website/ip issue?
    It's not a war on drugs it's a war against personal freedoms!

  8. #8
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    well maybe network solution needs to clear thier cache???

    Have you told them your problem???

    How are you connected to the internet??

    router>switch?

    Router>server?

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

  9. #9
    Senior Member Blunted One's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    183
    We have it set up as router-->firewall-->switch-->server.

    I will get in contact with network solutions, but was wondering if that would make any difference because when using the tools on dnsstuff it shows the correct ip for our site and shows network solutions correctly with no mention of the ip we get internally. Seems to be within our network only that we have this problem. What could network solutions do? and what would clearing their cache do for our network? Just wondering.
    It's not a war on drugs it's a war against personal freedoms!

  10. #10
    AOs Resident Troll
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    3,152
    you said you are going through network solutions...some ISPs use a proxy or cache server

    so...

    Where does your internal network get thier DNS???.........network solutions???

    MLF
    How people treat you is their karma- how you react is yours-Wayne Dyer

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides