Avast problems
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Avast problems

  1. #1
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238

    Avast problems

    Hi there, haveing a few problems with me antivirus. i have avast, and it has been fine for a long time, then it just stopped updating. I have tryed doing it manually, and tryed updating the program but no, so i thought about uninstalling it and reinstalling it, only to find out I can't uninstall it, this rings alarm bells for me, how do I get it off my computer?


    Yours as ever

    Fruit salad Frond
    Sarcasm is a way of life

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    297
    You didn't mention what version of avast it is, it appears they are not offering updates for version 3 or below. Not being able to uninstall it is almost surely a bad thing or it could be that the uninstall just doesnt work if the process is still running. Have you tried removing it while in safe mode?

  3. #3
    I'd rather be fishing DjM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    1,867
    Check This:

    Cheers:
    DjM

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    3
    try on safe mode, if it does not work you will have to install and unistall again but before you unistall meake sure you are in safe mode with networking so you can run an online scan .

    good luck with that

  5. #5
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Hi Jonny,

    i have avast, and it has been fine for a long time
    So have I. You need to re-register it every 14 months, so it might be worth trying a re-registration?

    Also, please check the program (click on desktop icon) and see that the automatic updates option is still set to "on"

    I guess that my first move would be to download the latest version (even if it is the same) and just try a reinstall over the top of the existing one.

    It lives in a folder called "Alwil Programs"..................I have had a quick look, but I cannot see an uninstaller.

    Usually, with AVs and firewalls you need to use their uninstaller, because it knows what to turn off to do the job. Otherwise you will have to do it in safe mode.

    I would still try a re-installation over the top of the existing one as a first step. I would also try that in safe mode.

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  6. #6
    Senior Member JonnyFrond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    238
    Thanks for all your help, I have a better understanding now, as it happens, mr Nihil was (cue the gay camp comment) my knight in shining armour, and it all now seems to be updated. Lovely

    Jonny Hello Sailor Frond
    Sarcasm is a way of life

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •