Security fundamentals

Thread: Security fundamentals

Security fundamentals

OK, I want to know if there is any tutorial on here or that someone could link me to outside that would be informative to a complete newbie in the security area. I have looked up a wealth of information since hearing of RATs and looking up all of the information that I could find on trojans and types of hacking etc... Basically I have heard a million and one new terms and I want something to tie everything together and teach me what the heck is going on in the whole process of computer communications.... I do not know what terms to even use in a search engine. I have heard alot of packet sniffers and ip scanning and well it is like greek to me so where do I begin to even understand what all of this stuff is, means, and how it works?

I am very inquisitive so just knowing what a port scanner does is not what I am after. I want to know the hows and whys of the entire process and if I have to get down to binary code to do so then by all means.... I mean I had an online program run a port scanner on me because it is suppose to tell me if I have security issues but I want to know how it does its job. I also had a friend trying to teach me how to go into a cmd prompt and type netstat there to see if someone actually had connected to me through that stupid sub7 program. It amazes me to say the least. Now I want to know what I was actually doing in both those instances.

I dabble in everything computer. I learned to build, rebuild, fix hardware and software, build websites, and more. Now I am interested in learning how they tick from the inside out. On one of my many searches I found a tutorial on about.com about IP Networking which seems to be a good starting place if I could decipher all of the technical jargon and foreign terms enough to reconstruct sentences that I actually understand with attention deficit disorder!
    Perhaps I could find IP networking for dummies? LMAO