Anyone familiar with this software?

Thread: Anyone familiar with this software?

Anyone familiar with this software?

I am a field tech in network operations for a regional provider of phone and aDsl service. We work off of laptops called Go Books with are loaded with software called Tech Access. Several times a day my ability to access information via the built in radio will not work. It will show on radio strength that I have more than required signal to send and receive but it repeatidly times out and costs me time on my performance. None of the supervisors nor the technician that in is charge of all of the laptops can provide an answer to this problem.

Anyone with helpful info would be appreciated. I have tried google and I have read all the manuals that come with this computer. The help desk has not be helpful either. Thanks

AO Senior Cow-beller
    Have you checked with the provider of the software/laptop solution?

Is this a COTS sort of solution, this "Tech Access"? Just because the radio signal is strong does not mean other things are slowing down processing.

You have given us very little info, but my keen deductive reasoning tells me that there is not much you can do. You have a strong signal strength, but radio frequency transmission as a medium for data is good only until you have any sort of cross-talk or interference...which is almost always. The degree of interference determines the amount of degredation and error correction you have to consider.

I doubt there is anything you can do in your scope of influence to remidiate this.
    "Data is not necessarily information. Information does not necessarily lead to knowledge. And knowledge is not always sufficient to discover truth and breed wisdom." --Spaf
    Anyone who is capable of getting themselves made president should on no account be allowed to do the job. --Douglas Adams (1952-2001)