Help with algorithms

Thread: Help with algorithms

Help with algorithms

Im new to algorithms and am not haveing much luck on google, dont think im useing the right terms but here goes:

Im solveing a crackme, for fun. I've studied the code and determined the serial must add to 2F2 along with some other constraints. It is 6 chars long.

First I figured i could write a nested loop that counts from
    1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1 to 256, 256, 256, 256, 256, 256

That would take way too long, so I come up with an algorithm, it almost works except keeps returning to 256, were everything started. And thats where I need help.

It does not get much further then 255, 255, 127, 4, 1, 1

To descirbe my algorithm, I would first test for sum == target then,

if sum < target I would increase the current value by value = value + (max - value)/2
    if sum > target I would reduce the curent value by value = value - (value - min)/2

max would equal 256, and min 0, but once sum < target, I set min equal to curent value since if the current value results in a sum less then what I want, reduceing it further makes no sence.

I think this is called divide and conquer but not sure. Where can I learn more about these type of algorithms?
    MyBox:

Asus P5VDC-MX
    Celeron 2.8GHz
    512MB DDR 400
    WD 250GB SATA
    DVD-ROM, CD-RW
    Thermaltake 430W PSU
    Netgear WGT624 Router

Hi

A general note:

R. Sedgewick has written a book about Algorithms[1], which I still use frequently.
    Also check the web for keywords like "backtracking[2]" and "dynamic programming[3]".
    Have also a look at the webpage of the International Olympiad in Informatics[4] - an
    excellent resource for algorithmic problems, often with documented solutions.

Note that it is a very crucial conceptual difference whether you need one solution
    or all solutions - the right choice for the right algorithms is of utmost importance.

More specific about this kind of problems: