dvd not working
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: dvd not working

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348

    dvd not working

    hi,
    have a little problem with friend pioneer dvd rw dvr110d which sudenly decided not to work any more.when i go to hardware manager itshows it under dvd/cd_rom drives but has little yellow mark next to it indicating something is worng with it.When i click for general info this message comes up:
    Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware but cannot find the hardware device. (Code 41).
    I have tried all cables and to uninstall it and instal it back but nothing is hapening.still this message comes up.
    What is your sugestion??
    thanks

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Check if the BIOS can see the drive.. Check master/slave settings.. Check cables/power.. If these fail the drive probably needs replacing..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Well there are three possibilities that come to mind:

    1. The drive is knackered and you need a new one. Please test it in another machine to make sure that it doesn't work first. Check these other two first, as they are less work.

    2. You have installed/uninstalled Roxio software:

    http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;314060

    3. Windows has lost the plot and that is not a PnP device.

    If you just uninstalled and reinstalled the device in this situation, it won't work. You need to uninstall the DRIVERS as well.......... then reinstall them both together. That way Windows won't just find the driver................

    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348
    hi sir,
    i have put my liteon dvd writer and bios recognizes it but its same thing it doesnt work shows same message.
    as it is recognized and writen in device manager that means bios is ok.
    checked master /slave setting ok.i put new cable which is ok same problem.Power is working cos i can see light on dvd writer.
    hmm interesting little yellow thing is still there.
    any other sugestions?
    thanks

  5. #5
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Try to remove the drive from the devicemanager and reboot.. See if that helps..
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    Yes,

    You tried a known working drive and got the same message. That was similar to my suggestion of testing the pioneer in a known working computer

    So, it is either #2 or #3. If you have not messed with Roxio software before this happened, you can also eliminate #2.

    That leaves #3..................... you MUST uninstall the drivers AND the device and reinstall them together. If you leave the drivers, Windows will load them but not be able to match them to a hardware device?..............
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348
    ok will do some work with uninstalling the lot.
    its little bit hard to install any drivers when its onlz floopy left working
    will post the results
    thnks

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    348
    ok results are here:
    had to follow nihil link to microsoft sugestions as nothing else worked.
    Had to go to registry and delete upper and lower filters for cd players and that solved the problem after rebooting.
    Thanks.Everyone interested to follow it please click nihil microsoft support link from above.
    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •