Auto Refreshing Pages
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Auto Refreshing Pages

  1. #1
    Senior Member Info_Au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    273

    Auto Refreshing Pages

    Is there anyway to stop a webpage automatically refreshing itself.??

    Just hitting the stop button does not help.

    Its not security related but just trying to stop the annoying habits of some NEWS sites reloading a page as im reading it.

  2. #2
    AO's Resident Redneck The Texan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    1,539
    Hey buddy, from my research it looks like your kinda screwed.

    Some alternative browsers have this feature built in as a quick menu option, such as the lightweight OffByOne browser. I find it very handy to use this speedy RAM-caching browser on sites that don't "require" Javascript. The same can be said about Lynx when you are surfing text-based sites. Most versions of Opera have an option to toggle this as well. Even the severely archaic NCSA Mosaic had such an option (along with autosurf and a number of other innovative features.)
    I am quite surprised that we still do not yet have this option in some of the most popular current browsers, considering that the option existed in browsers from a decade ago. I anxiously await such a feature in Netscape / Mozilla / Firefox's UI along with disabling plug-ins such as Shockwave flash without the need to download extensions / rename dll's / etc.
    Until then, I will stick with the alternative browsers on the more "annoying" sites. It's just easier and faster to fire up one of these alternatives on select sites than to play around with dll's.

    http://sillydog.org/forum/sdt_8860.php
    Git R Dun - Ty
    A tribe is wanted

  3. #3
    AO Curmudgeon rcgreen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    2,716
    In your browser you should have the option to disable "meta refresh"
    I came in to the world with nothing. I still have most of it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member Info_Au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    273
    Thanks The Texan and rcgreen.

    That page has opened my eyes a bit and will keep track on the idea.
    I'm using firefox 1.5.

    I had noticed it happening on "Reuters" and now its happening on my local news site.

    I think its just there way of collecting more "Clicks".
    When the user finds a way to stop it they will write in a "work around" in the page html.

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    /
    Posts
    385
    grab yourself a copy of proxomitron, you'll love it, it even comes with a anti page refresh option.

    clickity click

    follow the setup instructions here

    cheers
    acidtone..

  6. #6
    Senior Member Info_Au's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    273
    That was an easy fix.

    Simple install when you read the page provided.

    thanks Acidtone

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •