Dont Have access to Task Manager!! [Very Urgent]
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Dont Have access to Task Manager!! [Very Urgent]

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23

    Thumbs down Dont Have access to Task Manager!! [Very Urgent]

    Hi Friends,

    Just now when I invoked task manger it said like "Task Manager Has Been Disabled By Your Administrator".

    What should I do for this? When I search with AVG a lot of virus is found in the C:/Windows/System32.

    Am attaching the image from the virus valut of AVG. Please help me with this.

    Regards,
    Sumesh Paul.

  2. #2
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Greeting's

    First disable your system restore, then go online and do a scan either at :

    housecall.trendmicro.com
    or
    safety.live.com

    One of the most common reason for a virus infection is AN UN PATCHED SYSTEM. So is your system patched up ? Backup important data.


    PS : your archive is corrupted. Just upload one .JPEG
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  3. #3
    Member TheX1le's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    73
    Suggestion try putting this next line into run and let it run just as i typed it should give you access back.

    REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v DisableTaskMgr /t REG_DWO
    ...."Cant stop the signal Mel, Every thing goes some where and i go every where."...... "From here to the eyes and the ears of the verse, thats my motto or might be if i start having a motto" - Mr. Universe "Serenity"

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23
    Hi Friends,

    Am attaching the jpg image from the virus vault of AVG.

    How do I disable the system restore? Please help me with this too.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23
    Hi TheX1le,

    REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Pol
    icies\System /v DisableTaskMgr /t REG_DWO
    The above said is not working.

  6. #6
    StOrM™
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    1,003
    Greetings'

    Your system has lots of Trojans, which is never a good sighn not because its a virus but you can never know the real extent of damage caused..

    To disable your system restore you must be logged in as administrator.

    Right click on My computer > Properties > System restore > Disable system restore on all drive's

    Most of the Trojans on your system are "OLD" and are on your system is infected BECAUSE OF UNPATCHED SYSTEM..

    First clean your system online... Then DO NOT VISIT ANY OTHER SITE EXCEPT Windows Update and download all the patches you CAN. If you dont update YOUR SYSTEM WILL GET RE-INFECTED.

    Once Patched up I think you can start cleaning your system.. But AS FOR NOW

    GO ONLINE, SCAN YOUR SYSTEM. CLEAN ALL THAT IT FINDS and then UPDATE UPDATE AND UPDATE
    Parth Maniar,
    CISSP, CISM, CISA, SSCP

    *Thank you GOD*

    Greater the Difficulty, SWEETER the Victory.

    Believe in yourself.

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    23
    Hi ByTeWrangler,

    I stopped the monitoring and am trying to get an online help for from live safety.com

    Thanks for the post.

  8. #8
    Member TheX1le's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    73
    Originally posted here by Sumesh Paul
    Hi TheX1le,



    The above said is not working.
    Try this it should all be one command.

    "REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v DisableTaskMgr /t REG_DWO"

    Every thing in the " " s should go into the run command box.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Posts
    137
    I recommend that if:

    When I search with AVG a lot of virus is found in the C:/Windows/System32.
    you should seriously consider saving your important data. It is a regular practice to re-install a PC or server when you can no longer trust its integrity. You can probably recover from what you have right now, but since your PC has been compromised I recommend re-install.

    you can also think of it this way:
    4-10 hours to get everything cleaned up in its current state, or spend 3-4 hours with a fresh install and start from a clean trusted OS.

    Hope this helps. Also, Please make sure you put the basic on before attaching to the internet:
    Antivirus ( I like AVG Free Edition if you cant spend the money)
    Ad-Aware SE
    Microsoft Defender
    And apply all system patches from the vendor.
    \"Common Sense, isn\'t that common\"
    \"It is a lot easier to raise a child then it is to repair an adult\"
    -Kruptos

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

 Security News

     Patches

       Security Trends

         How-To

           Buying Guides