a couple of ftp questions
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: a couple of ftp questions

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    21

    a couple of ftp questions

    Well, my ftp server wont l me make a directory for sum reason (and yes i use the admin account). When i try to make one it goes:

    500 Command not recognised

    How can i set it up so it will be able to? if thats possible.

    And also, how can i write an ftp script with a batch file and/or VBS?

  2. #2
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    What's the command you gave to create the directory?


    On what OS is the ftp client running? When you say VBS I'm assuming windows..

    ftp -s:myscript

    Transfers files to and from a computer running an FTP server service
    (sometimes called a daemon). Ftp can be used interactively.

    FTP [-v] [-d] [-i] [-n] [-g] [-s:filename] [-a] [-w:windowsize] [-A] [host]

    -v Suppresses display of remote server responses.
    -n Suppresses auto-login upon initial connection.
    -i Turns off interactive prompting during multiple file
    transfers.
    -d Enables debugging.
    -g Disables filename globbing (see GLOB command).
    -s:filename Specifies a text file containing FTP commands; the
    commands will automatically run after FTP starts.
    -a Use any local interface when binding data connection.
    -A login as anonymous.
    -w:buffersize Overrides the default transfer buffer size of 4096.
    host Specifies the host name or IP address of the remote
    host to connect to.

    Notes:
    - mget and mput commands take y/n/q for yes/no/quit.
    - Use Control-C to abort commands.
    myscript is just a flat ASCII file, they're just the commands you would normally type on the ftp prompt.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

  3. #3
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    what is the exact syntax you are using to create the directory?

    what is the ftp server software?
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    21
    Well to make a directory, i use "mkdir <directory name> " and my ftp is VxWorks

  5. #5
    Just Another Geek
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Rotterdam, Netherlands
    Posts
    3,403
    Don't use spaces in the directory name or quote the directory name..

    Or the command may have been disabled.. Try "help" to see the commands available.
    Oliver's Law:
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •