Help: dealing with unwanted users on WIFI - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Help: dealing with unwanted users on WIFI

  1. #11
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    742
    I dont know where you two came up with wireless... sounds to me like he has a cable modem connected directly to two computers. cheyenne has the right idea telling you to get a router. This will at least provide a level of routing to help protect you.

    As far as RDP that is not installed on anything newer than XP (outside server OS). So you dont need to worry about disabling that. Until you purchase a router I would at least install some software based firewalls. If you do a search on this site it will provide you with a list of firewalls. try Zone Alarm or something else.
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  2. #12
    Dead Man Walking
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    810
    Sorry my brain checked itself at the dooor this morning. I saw laptop and the wireless light blinked on in my head. Having removed my head from my 4$$ I will concur with the rest of the general postings on this thread : get a router and a firewall

    EDIT: realized what made me think wireless. The title of the thread.

  3. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    He must of changed it. Last night the title was " HELP!!!"

    This morning it was what it is now.
    =

  4. #14
    Senior Member Spyrus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    742
    yeah Zombie, I looked at the title just now after looking at the main page and realize what you and phish saw... piss poor title for not having anything that I can see to do with wireless? ohh well Happy Hump day
    Duct tape.....A whole lot of Duct Tape
    Spyware/Adaware problem click
    here

  5. #15
    Dead Man Walking
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    810
    The only other thing I can think of is: if the comp's he is using have wirelss enabled he could be seeing connections to another wireless network in the area. Then all you have to do is go in through control panel and disable the wireless card if it isnt in use.

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Memphis, TN
    Posts
    3,747
    Possible, but it sounds more like hes seeing other computers thats on the same node as he is for cable.


    Thats the one thing I don't like about cable, far less insecure than something like DSL.
    =

  7. #17
    Dead Man Walking
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    810
    Not saying your wrong cheyenne but I havent seen that happen with my cable company. Meh....maybe with others. I dont know

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •