Mount hda1 using Live iso in VMware. - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Mount hda1 using Live iso in VMware.

  1. #11
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    But there would be no other way to copy files. The restriction is the limited user account. Unless you booted with the VMplayer/ISO such that the Linux system mounts the partition. You could try the mount option: http://www.linuxforum.com/linux_tutorials/1/1.php

    Might work but not sure.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    Ok, before I try that, i'll show you what I tried yesterday:



    Knowing that these commands didn't work, would the ones you just linked to work?

    Please keep in mind that i'm new to Linux.
    Last edited by 8105; October 18th, 2006 at 02:14 AM.

  3. #13
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Type fdisk -l to see what Auditor picks up. VMware tends to put harddrives as SCSI, not IDE (/dev/hda tends to be IDE). Alternatively, try mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/win instead.
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  4. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    The directorys were made succesfully but when I try mount /dev/sda1 /mnt/win it returns "mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid block device". (same as before).
    Last edited by 8105; October 18th, 2006 at 02:53 AM.

  5. #15
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    What directories? What was the output of fdisk -l?
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  6. #16
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    What directories?
    Opps sorry, you didn't say to but I had to mkdir mnt/win didn't I?

    and the output of fdisk -l returned nothing (blank).

  7. #17
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    Can you post the output of dmesg or look in /var/message to see if it identifies the drives there? Usually it'll pick them up in a boot process. I suspect, however, that unless C$ is actively shared, it'll be unlikely that you'll be able to access this drive because Windows "owns" it (so to speak).
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    http://www.freewebs.com/mutimediastorage/dmesg

    Yes, C$ is shared, by default.

    and there is no "message" in /var.

  9. #19
    Just a Virtualized Geek MrLinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Posts
    7,324
    So if it's shared by default why not use the SAMBA mount (smbmount) to mount the C$ using the IP address of the host system?
    Goodbye, Mittens (1992-2008). My pillow will be cold without your purring beside my head
    Extra! Extra! Get your FREE copy of Insight Newsletter||MsMittens' HomePage

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    13
    Sorry, I was looking at the shares with Admin privs, the limited account won't let me see the shares via the "net share" command (access denied). so......

    And my other system is down at the moment so I can't find out if the limited accounts C$ drive is shared with the \\192.168.*.*\c$ command

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •