Thread: System File Checker (SFC) Question

Hybrid View

Some Assembly Required ShagDevil's Avatar

System File Checker (SFC) Question

I have been checking around all day and could not find any comprehensive answers to this:
    Can running sfc.exe cause issues in relation to patches? Basically what I'm wondering is that if I just recently ran sfc.exe (using the original Windows XP SP2 CD) on a system that has been patched numerous times - will it cause problems with the system files? I'm not sure if patches generally change protected windows files.
    I was having login problems and running sfc.exe was the only way to fix it. Any help would be apprciated. Thanks.
    The object of war is not to die for your country but to make the other bastard die for his - George Patton

I don't think that sfc would cause issues related to patches.

I've ran it numerous times on desktops and servers alike and never had any problems because of it.
    =

I have little knowledge here, so take this FWIW. I'm shooting off the top of my head here, while relaxing with a glass or two of wine. ( or three or six. )

I'm not sure if patches generally change protected windows files.
    This I can tell you, even drunk, yes, patches do change protected windows files. Just look through your /windows/system32 directory, and choose to sort by date.
    You will see how many M$ .dll files have been changed, hopefully by patching and upgrades

M$ apparently just the other day re-released the KBA Q222193 and is now Description of the Windows File Protection feature

The only other relevant M$ article I could find was Description of Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 System File Checker (Sfc.exe)

According to these articles, the only ‘supported mechanisms' of replacing protected files are through
    • Windows Service Pack installation using Update.exe
    • Hotfixes installed using Hotfix.exe or Update.exe
    • Operating system upgrades using Winnt32.exe
    • Windows Update