Problem with ADSL
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: Problem with ADSL

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    5

    Problem with ADSL

    Hi,
    I've got ADSL internet but it cuts out all the time, my phone line is quite long and it may be the cause. I'm darned sick of these cut outs. Is there anything anybody knows that could help me?

  2. #2
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    /
    Posts
    385
    Quote Originally Posted by kyoji
    my phone line is quite long and it may be the cause.
    I personally don't have ADSL. But i've heard of people suffering cut outs etc, and they seemed to be able to fix it just by moving there computer closer to the phone jack, thus enabling them to use a shorter cable from the modem to the outlet..

    also have you tried giving your ISP a call and get them to manually test the line, maybe there is something not right happening from there end..

    just a few thoughts..

    cheers
    acidtone..

  3. #3
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    Your ISP shouldn't sell you an internet package that "cuts out" every few minutes because they can check how suitable the line is for the service they're offering you. To be honest, the broadband market is scandalous at the moment, with so many half truths and misrepresentations. There's a whole host of reasons why you might not be getting the service you signed up for, including BT's ancient copper wires struggling to provide speeds of anywhere near the promised 8 megs, traffic shaping in busy periods, capping by nearly all ISPs (I can only think of Blueyonder and AOL who don't).

    Cheap broadband packages, or deals like Orange are offering may sound tempting but pared-to-the-bone broadband is a very flakey business with technical help often costing premium rates and companies providing what ought to be so many additional benefits, yet ending up with increasing numbers of dissatisfied customers. "Free" broadband is often only free along with a phone package when you sign an 18 month contract and only 4 out of 10 subscribers to the 8Mbps maxdsl service will enjoy speeds of even 6Mb.

    BT Wholesale reports that download speeds are dependent on at least nine different factors, which include distance from the exchange, your ISP's investment in its network, the local weather, the location of the site you're accessing and how well the internet is performing that day. Poor internal wiring, electrical noise and low quality hardware are other factors involved. ISPs make use of these "excuses" to provide slower than promised speeds.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  4. #4
    Disgruntled Postal Worker fourdc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Vermont, USA
    Posts
    797
    Try replacing the patch cord between your modem and the wall, then replace the phone jack on the wall, a little oxidation can ruin your day
    ddddc

    "Somehow saying I told you so just doesn't cover it" Will Smith in I, Robot

  5. #5
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    Do you have all the Filters in the relevant places? If so it may be worth replacing the one your PC is on. If you have a dodgy filter it is possible to get dissconnected everytime someone phones you.

    The length of your phone line shouldn't have much, if any, impact on the service providing the cable is intact....
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  6. #6
    Agony Aunty-Online Moira's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,063
    I agree, compared to the length of cable between you and the exchange, the distance within your house is negligable.
    77 111 105 114 97

    My PGP signature

  7. #7
    Senior Member JPnyc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    2,734
    Sometimes those drops are due to improperly insulated phone wires. I've been through this with DSL. Personally, to me, DSL will never be truly viable until complete fiber optics are used in a given area.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    OK kyoji,

    Where are you and what provider are you using?................what is the service supposed to be?

    I use BT (I am in the UK) and do not have much of a problem............... you can get problems if water gets into the system.............

    I would get your DSL provider to check your line............ they can possibly increase the "gain" on your connection?
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

  9. #9
    Right turn Clyde Nokia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Button Moon
    Posts
    1,696
    AFAIK increasing the Gain only works for dial up?
    Drugs have taught an entire generation of kids the metric system.

    http://tazforum.**********.com/

  10. #10
    Super Moderator: GMT Zone nihil's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    United Kingdom: Bridlington
    Posts
    17,190
    You are probably right from a technical viewpoint, but I know they can do some sort of "tweaking" for ADSL?

    It is the same copper wire system I suppose?

    Beyond my technical capabilities I am afraid
    If you cannot do someone any good: don't do them any harm....
    As long as you did this to one of these, the least of my little ones............you did it unto Me.
    What profiteth a man if he gains the entire World at the expense of his immortal soul?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •